Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

In your opinion, what age should pacifiers be taken away? Why?

In your opinion, what age should pacifiers be taken away? Why?

Answer Question
 
Anonymous

Asked by Anonymous at 8:20 PM on Jan. 25, 2009 in Just for Fun

Answers (13)
  • I didn't and won't use pacifiers for my kids. I just don't think they're necessary.
    StarLee

    Answer by StarLee at 8:21 PM on Jan. 25, 2009

  • I felt 6 months was appropriate, because it was an easy habit to break at that age.
    Anonymous

    Answer by Anonymous at 8:24 PM on Jan. 25, 2009

  • Around 5 months. Babies are born with a natural urge to suck - it helps to soothe them. Around 5 months they lose this need and pacifiers are no longer necessary.
    Ginger0104

    Answer by Ginger0104 at 8:26 PM on Jan. 25, 2009

  • i dont think they should go past a yr.. i took mine away at 10 months. and why should we take them away? becuase it rots their little teeth when they come in.. so i guess i should have taken mine away alot sooner.
    tnteaton

    Answer by tnteaton at 8:29 PM on Jan. 25, 2009

  • Mine is a year and we are fighting it right now.
    jepelican

    Answer by jepelican at 8:49 PM on Jan. 25, 2009

  • As soon as possible. Better to start weaning them off before they get way too attached. If you can avoid it at all, I would recommend that.
    hopelessnance

    Answer by hopelessnance at 8:54 PM on Jan. 25, 2009

  • I think the parents have final decision, but a year is plenty. They're starting to try to talk and the pacifier can (not is, but can) hold them back. (just my opinion)

    We took the first one at 13 months.
    We took our second son's at 10 months because we had another one on the way and I didn't want to try to take his when his baby brother still had one.
    We took our third son's at 4 months. He was early and had a weak suck, and could NOT keep that thing in his mouth by himself.
    TiccledBlue

    Answer by TiccledBlue at 8:56 PM on Jan. 25, 2009

  • I wouldn't allow them past a year, however neither of my kids liked them.
    Pnukey

    Answer by Pnukey at 8:59 PM on Jan. 25, 2009

  • I think if my teenagers were using them I would take them away. Otherwise, it didn't bother me if my kids wanted thiers. But, since we nursed, they hardly ever used them.
    SusieD250

    Answer by SusieD250 at 9:31 PM on Jan. 25, 2009

  • 6 months if u dont want a fight
    lolagirlkoch

    Answer by lolagirlkoch at 10:34 PM on Jan. 25, 2009

Join CafeMom now to contribute your answer and become part of our community. It's free and takes just a minute.