Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

1 Bump

To all our vegetarian friends!

 
PMSMom10

Asked by PMSMom10 at 11:01 PM on Apr. 14, 2013 in Food & Drink

Level 46 (229,581 Credits)
This question is closed.
Answers (9)
  • Little hint from a kosher pal, if it has a kosher symbol and say "parve" or just has the symbol, you're guaranteed there's no animal product in it whatsoever.
    For example, a variety of Altoids with an OU symbol, it doesn't contain gelatin.
    I suggest downloading the OU or OK app and you can search for completely animal-free products.
    momto2boys973

    Answer by momto2boys973 at 11:01 AM on Apr. 15, 2013

  • yeah gelatin. and this also concerns those who keep kosher/ avoid pork...

    feralxat

    Answer by feralxat at 11:18 PM on Apr. 14, 2013

  • Thanks! I did know most of this. I cannot remember the last time I touched any of these things. Also because of the keeping kosher thing.
    balagan_imma

    Answer by balagan_imma at 11:54 PM on Apr. 14, 2013

  • For the record - rennet is used in the making of virtually all "real" cheeses (not cottage cheese). It's an enzyme complex that is produced by animal's stomachs (not just calves). So the vegetarian versions are made with microbial enzymes which are synthetically developed coagulants. Serious vegetarians know about rennet and either accept the fact or go for vegetarian cheeses. You can even find vegetarian parmesan ...

    This is just pure scare-mongering. Any true vegetarian reads labels and most of the above is no secret ...
    winterglow

    Answer by winterglow at 4:32 AM on Apr. 15, 2013

  • i knew about Worcestershire sauce, but the rest of those are news to me! but then im not a vegetarian anymore (havent been for a long time).
    okmanders

    Answer by okmanders at 11:03 PM on Apr. 14, 2013

  • Now I don't want to eat any of them... and I'm not even a Vegetarian!
    m-avi

    Answer by m-avi at 11:49 PM on Apr. 14, 2013

  • After reading the ingredients, I was pretty grossed out myself m-avi, lol
    PMSMom10

    Comment by PMSMom10 (original poster) at 11:52 PM on Apr. 14, 2013

  • Honestly Winter, I found it interesting. I was unaware of several of these products. But, I'm not a vegetarian either.
    PMSMom10

    Comment by PMSMom10 (original poster) at 9:32 AM on Apr. 15, 2013

  • Thanks mom!
    PMSMom10

    Comment by PMSMom10 (original poster) at 11:21 AM on Apr. 15, 2013

close Cafemom Join now to connect to other members! Connect with Facebook or Sign Up Using Email

Already Joined? LOG IN