Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I need some opinions on Vaccinations....

Now let me state this....I do not want a DEBATE lol I want everyones opinions without putting others down for their choices. We are all adults here and I think we can manage that. I am doing a report for a course Im taking and I need opinions and if anyone has any websites that have factual based information that would be SOOOO greatly appriciated. PLEASE ladies keep this civil and dont jump on people for thier choices and their opinions. Also, if you dont like what you read please refrain from attacking that person, and try to keep your opinions non accusatory as to not offend others.

Answer Question
 
sajamomma

Asked by sajamomma at 10:18 PM on Aug. 5, 2009 in General Parenting

Level 3 (16 Credits)
Answers (8)
  • I recommending looking into Dr. Sears book, The Vaccine Book.
    Krysta622

    Answer by Krysta622 at 10:20 PM on Aug. 5, 2009

  • http://67.220.228.150/~scie7924/?s=vaccine - this is a "vaccine" search on sciencebasedmedicine.org. The second link in this search is a review of Dr. Sears book (also found in my journals =))

    http://www.quackwatch.org/03HealthPromotion/immu/immu00.html - quackwatch.org, it discusses many of the myths and facts of vaccines

    http://www.chop.edu/consumer/jsp/division/generic.jsp?id=75743 - here is a link that takes you directly to a Q&A regarding vaccine safety. This particular section compares risks of vaccine to the risks of infection.

    http://www.cdc.gov/vaccinesafety/index.htm - The CDC, whether or not you "trust" them, they do have lots of stats to wade through.

    http://www.quackcast.com/spodcasts/files/archive-22-february-2009.html - this is an MP3 of Mark Crislip's Quackcast. This one deals with vaccines. He lays out many of the myths and does a good job of debunking many myths.
    MotherofIreland

    Answer by MotherofIreland at 10:27 PM on Aug. 5, 2009

  • hey thanks ladies!! lol I kinda left this to the last minute now Im rushing to get this thing done by friday your help is greatly appriciated!!!
    sajamomma

    Answer by sajamomma at 10:40 PM on Aug. 5, 2009

  • It is not black or white – vax or don’t vax.
    I can't urge you strongly enough to do your own research!! Do not base your decision on opinions. Many people read the same information and have differing conclusions. Our conclusions were that the preservatives are toxic and the interaction between the vaccines can be dangerous; we also feel that teeny bodies can handle only so much intrusion at a time.
    We choose to selectively vaccinate on a delayed schedule. The first vax was after our daughter turned one. We never did more than one vax per office visist. We had the office order single dose, preservative free vaccines; we concluded that the additives to the vaccines and the interactions between the vaccines posed the greatest danger. We skipped flu, chicken pox, and a couple of others. We always read the insert before allowing the shot to be given.
    Good luck.
    rkoloms

    Answer by rkoloms at 10:50 PM on Aug. 5, 2009

  • hehehe not making a decision here just a report and I have to have BOTH sides of the fence for this report so any of you mommas out there that dont vax pleeeease gimme your thoughts and opinions I need em!!!! Im just having a really hard time finding concrete facts for either side of the fence. I will be going to the local health unit tomorrow to get some more detailed info from them. Hopefully I get enough to get this thing started...eeeeekk cant believe i put this off so long its worth 45 percent of my grade lol
    sajamomma

    Answer by sajamomma at 10:57 PM on Aug. 5, 2009

  • I also recommend Dr. Sears' The Vaccine Book. There is also a website http://www.askdrsears.com/thevaccinebook/index.asp
    mir77

    Answer by mir77 at 11:04 PM on Aug. 5, 2009

  • Well, there are facts and then there is misinformation. There is an odd false dichotomy in this "debate". These facts aren't "opinions", they are backed by good science.  Please check out my links. =)

    MotherofIreland

    Answer by MotherofIreland at 10:19 AM on Aug. 6, 2009

  • My neighbor is taking psychology and she told me they pretty much teach that the vaccine causing autism idea has been debunked.

    I HAVE high-functioning autism (Asperger's) and so does my fiance, I still got my dd vaccinated, and she is normal....so.......
    metalcowgirl34

    Answer by metalcowgirl34 at 3:57 PM on Aug. 7, 2009

Join CafeMom now to contribute your answer and become part of our community. It's free and takes just a minute.