Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

is this vegan friendly?

I found a local health food store and they have oreo mock cookies called classic cream from back to nature brand. I went ahead and bought a package because neither eggs or milk was listed in the ingredients but there are alot of fancy big named ingredients and i wasn't sure if any of them were secretly animal products. Underneath the ingredients it say contains wheat and soy so does that mean it is vegan friendly?
heres the list of ingredients

Ingredients: UNBLEACHED ENRICHED FLOUR (WHEAT FLOUR, NIACIN, REDUCED IRON, THIAMINE MONONITRATE [VITAMIN B1], RIBOFLAVIN [VITAMIN B2], FOLIC ACID), ORGANIC EVAPORATED CANE JUICE, RAW SUGAR (TURBINADO SUGAR), PALM OIL, EXPELLER-PRESSED OLEIC SAFFLOWER OIL, COCOA (PROCESSED WITH ALKALI), BROWN RICE SYRUP, ORGANIC CORNSTARCH, BAKING SODA, SEA SALT, SOy LECITHIN,NATURAL FLAVORS

Answer Question
 
jenniamigo

Asked by jenniamigo at 3:15 PM on Aug. 25, 2009 in Diet & Fitness

Level 5 (88 Credits)
Answers (8)
  • None of those are usually animal derived.
    riotgrrl

    Answer by riotgrrl at 3:19 PM on Aug. 25, 2009

  • Be careful with "natural flavors" they dont have to be specific. You should call the comapny if you are not sure but I would say it is vegan because "dairy" and "eggs" are not listed on the allergy info.
    sugarmagnolia1

    Answer by sugarmagnolia1 at 3:22 PM on Aug. 25, 2009

  • I'm sorry I am one of those obnoxious people that don't answer the question but continue on to give unsolicited advice but...Newman's Own "oreos" are vegan....including the "natural flavorings"

    lucysmomrocks

    Answer by lucysmomrocks at 3:43 PM on Aug. 25, 2009

  • Sugarmagnolia is right about the natural flavors thing, however I'm pretty sure these specific cookies are vegan because they were listed in the Skinny Bitch book. We buy the Newman-Os.

    Actual Oreos are technically vegan, but filled with junk still.
    aurorabunny

    Answer by aurorabunny at 4:45 PM on Aug. 25, 2009

  • Lucysmomrocks is right. And the Newman-Os are better tasting than the Back to Nature brand. Not that the Back to Nature brand is bad. I like some of their stuff. But Newman-Os are about the best prepackaged cookie I've had.
    Aubles

    Answer by Aubles at 5:08 PM on Aug. 25, 2009

  • Usually if there is doubt they will say vegan friendly, but I agree with PP technically regular oreos are vegan, I don't think they use real milk or eggs.
    AJmum

    Answer by AJmum at 5:54 PM on Aug. 25, 2009

  • I haven't seen Newman-O's anywhere but if i come across them i will definately give them a try. I had no idea that oreos were technically vegan friendly. I have a hard time imagining chocolate without milk i guess.
    jenniamigo

    Answer by jenniamigo at 6:08 PM on Aug. 25, 2009

  • If they are vegan, they will be labeled as vegan. PETA has a vegan or not reference list on their website; the Vegetarian Resource Group does, too (I think)


    www.peta.org


    www.vrg.org


     

    rkoloms

    Answer by rkoloms at 9:47 AM on Aug. 27, 2009

Join CafeMom now to contribute your answer and become part of our community. It's free and takes just a minute.
close Cafemom Join now to connect to other members! Connect with Facebook or Sign Up Using Email

Already Joined? LOG IN