Yes, recent activity is made to see your friends recent activity, such as adding widgets or writing posts. That is it's purpose. You can delete that widget, and edit what you want OTHER people to see in THEIR boxes, in privacy and settings. If someone else has a recent activity box on their homepage and they are your friend they can see all your recent activity.
at 3:57 PM on Jun. 23, 2008