Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

In YOUR OPINION~How does...?

Large amount of Government Debt and Large amounts of Government Spending build a stronger economic nation for the LONG TERM?

Also, in YOUR opinion~What is a shovel ready job? Is it ok if shovel ready jobs are temporary jobs?

 
grlygrlz2

Asked by grlygrlz2 at 10:35 PM on Sep. 7, 2009 in Politics & Current Events

Level 39 (106,530 Credits)
This question is closed.
Answers (41)
  • Shovel ready jobs to me are very temporary jobs that will not last long enough to really do much good. They are a band-aid on a gaping wood. Want to see the economy improve? Lower taxes. Lower them on the middle and upper class and lower them on businesses. Quit giving refunds and tax breaks to those who do not pay taxes and return the money to those who do. Like it or not it is the people with money who keep the country running. When people spend, there are more jobs to be had by everyone. If people feel that the economical environment is good they will expand and start new businesses which in turn hire new people.
    FL2AK

    Answer by FL2AK at 10:56 PM on Sep. 7, 2009

  • and who will be getting these jobs?????
    tyme4me2day

    Answer by tyme4me2day at 10:37 PM on Sep. 7, 2009

  • It doesnt. That's the whole point.. It's only a temporary fix for the time being. Sorry, i'd much rather struggle NOW than to have my children struggle in their future.
    BEXi

    Answer by BEXi at 10:39 PM on Sep. 7, 2009

  • I agree Bexi. I am trying to understand the 'liberal' mind in these areas.
    grlygrlz2

    Answer by grlygrlz2 at 10:40 PM on Sep. 7, 2009

  • If a city is depressed and in ill repair Government spending can rebuild the roads and make the area more desirable for new business. It also puts people to work in the mean time. The long term is the investment in restoring a community and the short term is putting food on some tables in the process.

    An investment in funding students going to college helps to strengthen our future work force, in the mean time colleges can afford to put more professors to work.

    Funding health care reform helps take the pressure off of small businesses to provide health insurance ( a very costly expenditure) which means that they can keep more employees on the books.
    beckcorc

    Answer by beckcorc at 10:41 PM on Sep. 7, 2009

  • In MY OPINION, a shovel ready job is a job that can last 3 minutes- 3 months-3years. But once the job is finished the person goes back to being unemployed.
    Anonymous

    Answer by Anonymous at 10:41 PM on Sep. 7, 2009

  • OK. I'll start with the shovel ready jobs. That menas one that is ready for construction, all permits done.

    Construction by its very nature is temporary work. Well, unless you consider that cathedral in Barcelona that's still unfinished after a century or the painting on the Golden Gate bridge.....I digress. Construction and building projects are finite, however.

    Large amounts of government debt and spending sure worked in the 50s and 60s. After all, the government built the aerospace industry. And then destroyed it by winning the Cold War. Hmm. Poor planning there.

    Long term, government spending and debt won't help. But as a bootstrap? I think it will.
    gdiamante

    Answer by gdiamante at 10:42 PM on Sep. 7, 2009

  • "and who will be getting these jobs????? "

    Well, where I am, the guys who lost their jobs in housing construction because the housing market tanked.
    gdiamante

    Answer by gdiamante at 10:43 PM on Sep. 7, 2009

  • Anon41 here
    It does not stimulate the economy, it gives false hope and the stimulus is paying 80,000 dollars for a job that costs 50% less and the people working them are getting minimum wage.
    Anonymous

    Answer by Anonymous at 10:44 PM on Sep. 7, 2009

  • An investment in funding students going to college helps to strengthen our future work force, in the mean time colleges can afford to put more professors to work.


    I agree here (in general)....


    If a city is depressed and in ill repair Government spending can rebuild the roads and make the area more desirable for new business. It also puts people to work in the mean time. The long term is the investment in restoring a community and the short term is putting food on some tables in the process.


    But what good do nice new roads do, if there are no[i.e] manufacturing jobs to drive too?

    grlygrlz2

    Answer by grlygrlz2 at 10:44 PM on Sep. 7, 2009

close Join now to connect to
other members!
Connect with Facebook or Sign Up Using Email

Already Joined? LOG IN