Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

would you judge someone on another person's opinion before you even meet the person?

for example if a new woman moves into your neighborhood and there's people who claim to already know her and tell you she's a slut or a bad mom or a homewrecker or just plain nasty would you believe them or would you form your own opinion about her once you've meet and spoken to her?

Answer Question
 
Anonymous

Asked by Anonymous at 2:18 PM on Sep. 12, 2009 in Relationships

Answers (8)
  • It's not my place to judge so I'd get to know her just to see if I wanted to be friends with her
    admckenzie

    Answer by admckenzie at 2:19 PM on Sep. 12, 2009

  • I would wait. Someone saying it doesn't make it true, thats just their opinion. I think alot of the meanness comes from jealousy anyways. Maybe she has gorgeous hair or is a nice person so people (especially women) automatically get catty and bad mouth her. If you want to get to know someone then you should.
    Katrina3016

    Answer by Katrina3016 at 2:24 PM on Sep. 12, 2009

  • I am a good judge and if there's someone that is "trouble" then i will find out for myself. I am a leader not a follower.
    Anonymous

    Answer by Anonymous at 2:35 PM on Sep. 12, 2009

  • For me it depends on who the person is that already has the opinion. If its someone I trust, then, while I will give the person a opportunity to change that opinion, I'm still going to be cautious. If its just rumors I've heard, then I don't pay attention to them. Rumors are usually crap anyway.

    abbynzachsmommy

    Answer by abbynzachsmommy at 2:35 PM on Sep. 12, 2009

  • I would be cautious too but I would not tattletale on the person who told me. I would extend hello welcome as a new neighbor and get to know the newcomer. If what I was told is a matter of physical safety and that also covers emotional safety I would merely nod hello and go on my way, if we're meant to be friends fate will bring us together in spite of troubles.
    Anonymous

    Answer by Anonymous at 2:44 PM on Sep. 12, 2009

  • I would get to know her first. Just because she had a bad experience with one person, or one group of women doesnt mean anything. Those other women could just be *itches and lying about this woman. You cant decide to despise someone because somene else does. If she gives you a bad vibe, then I would steer clear. But meet her first at least before you form an opinion.
    cassie_kellison

    Answer by cassie_kellison at 3:18 PM on Sep. 12, 2009

  • I WOULD HAVE TO GET TO KNOW HER AND MAKE UP MY OWN MIND ABOUT HER.
    older

    Answer by older at 4:54 PM on Sep. 12, 2009

  • If it was several people telling me, I'd take it in to consideration but I'd not be rude or unkind to anyone because I didn't agree with their lifestyle.
    If you hang around with someone with a bad reputation other people will assume you're in agreement with the way they carry themselves and possibly as bad or worse than they are.
    lisa_ann_p

    Answer by lisa_ann_p at 5:05 PM on Sep. 12, 2009

Join CafeMom now to contribute your answer and become part of our community. It's free and takes just a minute.