Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

History on your computer

When you delete information from your history on your computer is there any way someone can go to another place on your computer and see what you viewed?

Answer Question
 
Anonymous

Asked by Anonymous at 5:48 PM on Oct. 18, 2009 in Just for Fun

Answers (5)
  • if they do a system restore or are otherwise technically inclined yes the information is retrievable.

    if they aren't looking no it's not just sitting somewhere else in plain view.
    staciandababy

    Answer by staciandababy at 5:51 PM on Oct. 18, 2009

  • Yes, unless you completely wipe your computer out the information is still there even if you delete the history.
    KalebsMommee

    Answer by KalebsMommee at 6:15 PM on Oct. 18, 2009

  • There are different things you can do to try and find out. Sometimes you can find a website someone else that has been on by accident. I sometimes find websites my son has been on. Usually there are 3 or 4 different ways of doing things on a computer.
    Gailll

    Answer by Gailll at 6:56 PM on Oct. 18, 2009

  • Yes, it is still on the hard drive. A forensic computer tech can retrieve info that you think is not on the computer because you deleted it. That is how some criminals are caught.
    tyfry7496

    Answer by tyfry7496 at 9:38 PM on Oct. 18, 2009

  • HMMMM interesting Tyfry7496. Thank you- I never thought about that.
    Anonymous

    Answer by Anonymous at 6:16 PM on Oct. 19, 2009

Join CafeMom now to contribute your answer and become part of our community. It's free and takes just a minute.
close Join now to connect to
other members!
Connect with Facebook or Sign Up Using Email

Already Joined? LOG IN