Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

If you have a wheat/gluten allergy, can you eat this?

Ortega White Corn Taco Shells contain: white corn, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, water, salt, corn flour, hydrated lime, and citric acid. There are no allergy warnings on package.

Ortega Taco Seasoning Mix contains: yellow corn flour, salt, maltodextrin, paprika, spices, modified cornstarch, sugar, garlic powder, citric acid, autolyzed yeast extract, natural flavor, and caramel color. There are no allergy warnings on package.

Help!! We're having people over for dinner and one has the wheat/gluten allergy so I'm frantically trying to find something that we already have in the house to feed them because money is tight. She has said that corn, potato, and rice products are okay for her...but I don't know about the rest of the stuff listed. Help!!

Answer Question
 
ReesesPieces

Asked by ReesesPieces at 1:33 PM on Nov. 28, 2009 in Food & Drink

Level 1 (-3 Credits)
Answers (8)
  • no you cant eat it
    Anonymous

    Answer by Anonymous at 1:34 PM on Nov. 28, 2009

  • Here is a recipe for taco seasoning: :
    4.5 tsp. paprika;
    1 tsp. cumin powder;
    0.5 tsp. oregano;
    1 tsp. chili powder;
    1 tsp. onion powder;
    0.25 tsp. lemon powder (optional, I've never used it);
    1 tsp. salt;
    1 tsp. sugar;
    0.5 tsp. garlic powder;
    1 tsp. flour (you can sub masa, rice flour, etc.);
    0.5 tsp. cocoa powder
    Mix all together and store in airtight container. Makes approx. 4 tablespoonful - the equivalent of 1 package of seasoning (enough to season 1 pound of meat or a substitute). This mix is very mild, I add cayenne.

    The tortillas are probably ok, but you should try to find some from a mexican bakery with less ingredients.
    rkoloms

    Answer by rkoloms at 1:47 PM on Nov. 28, 2009

  • corn tortillas are normally wheat/gluten free... however they are usually made in the same factory as wheat tortillas.
    Anonymous

    Answer by Anonymous at 1:48 PM on Nov. 28, 2009

  • I make my own taco seasoning. My recipe uses flour and beef boullion but just leave it out (beef boullion has wheat flour/gluten): 2 tsp. chili powder, 1 1/2 tsp. instant dried onion, 1 tsp. paprika,, 1 1/4 tsp. salt, 1/4 tsp. garlic powder, 1/4 tsp. sugar. Maybe that will work!! Add it to the browned meat and a bit of water.

    michiganmom116

    Answer by michiganmom116 at 1:48 PM on Nov. 28, 2009

  • also try to google - gluten/wheat free mexican foods/ or tortillas.
    Anonymous

    Answer by Anonymous at 1:49 PM on Nov. 28, 2009

  • here are tons of gluten-free recipes-- use one with rice to be on the safe side. daniellecooks.wordpress.com

    ecodani

    Answer by ecodani at 1:57 PM on Nov. 28, 2009

  • I am extremely familiar with Celiac's disease, and those look fine to me.
    Anonymous

    Answer by Anonymous at 2:18 PM on Nov. 28, 2009

  • Depending on the level of sensitivity, the caramel coloring in the taco seasoning mix *could* be a problem because caramel coloring often contains gluten, but not always. You could call the company and ask, but more than likely they will not know and will just tell you to avoid using their product to be safe.
    Anonymous

    Answer by Anonymous at 10:16 PM on Nov. 28, 2009

Join CafeMom now to contribute your answer and become part of our community. It's free and takes just a minute.

Next question in Food & Drink
ham?

Next question overall (Diet & Fitness)
Bodybugg??

close Join now to connect to
other members!
Connect with Facebook or Sign Up Using Email

Already Joined? LOG IN