Gluten is the protein part of wheat, rye, barley, and other related grains. Some people cannot tolerate gluten when it comes in contact with the small intestine. This condition is known as celiac disease. A gluten-free diet is a diet that is free of wheat, rye, barley, oats, millet, triticale and any derivative of these grains.
People eat gluten-free foods due to celiac disease, autism, Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADD, ADHD) or other health reasons.
at 10:59 AM on Jan. 16, 2010