Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Do you consider eggs as a dairy or a meat?

I am preparing for a fast. Today is my 2nd day of no meat but the recipe that i want to use for dinner tonight uses an egg. I know eggs are found in the dairy section but dairy actually means that it came from milk, which eggs do not.
...ultimately i am wondering if i should indeed include the egg in my recipe or not.

side note: i do not want to hear any BS about my choice to fast. I know some people do not agree with fasting. Fine. ...I am not one of those people.


Asked by outstandingLove at 6:07 PM on Jan. 21, 2010 in Food & Drink

Level 20 (9,136 Credits)
This question is closed.
Answers (7)
  • Eggs are not dairy or meat. They are however just protein a animal byproduct.

    Answer by midnightmoma at 6:22 PM on Jan. 21, 2010

  • I always considered it a dairy because you find it in the diary section but my best friend considers it something else. I have NO idea!

    Answer by 07lilmama1108 at 6:08 PM on Jan. 21, 2010

  • They are a protein which can be considered a meat since they are an animal product, so best answer protein second closest meat, but no they are not dairy.

    Answer by truealaskanmom at 6:09 PM on Jan. 21, 2010

  • ditto what Truealaskanmom said! They are in the protein group with me, but I dont' think they are considered meat!

    Answer by Nika75 at 6:13 PM on Jan. 21, 2010

  • dairy and protein

    Answer by Texan1993 at 1:40 AM on Jan. 22, 2010


    Answer by blue_glass_mama at 2:49 PM on Jan. 22, 2010

  • Why are you abstaining fromm meat is the real question, then you'll know whether to include eggs or not.
    Eggs aren't dairy, but they're not meat either since they're not animal.

    Answer by Piskie at 11:39 AM on Jan. 26, 2010