Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

In your opinion, is there a difference between being pro-choice and pro abortion?

cross-posted in P&CE

 
Anonymous

Asked by Anonymous at 5:26 PM on Apr. 27, 2010 in Religion & Beliefs

This question is closed.
Answers (22)
  • Prochoice is when a person wants women to have the "choice" to go through with a pregnancy. Prolife is when the person does not want to give a "choice" to anyone over their body.
    With prochoice the mothers rights are considered over the fetus and prolife it is the opposite. If a mothers life is in danger or even in cases of rape or incest the rights of the fetus are considered first, even if the mother is a little girl. sickos.
    Anonymous

    Answer by Anonymous at 5:32 PM on Apr. 27, 2010

  • Certainly. Pro-abortionists are out trying to encourage pregnant women to abort. Pro-choice people believe the mother has the choice to abort or not based on her best judgement. The difference is one advocates for abortion and tries to push it on everyone while the other advocates the mother's right to choose for herself and does not push for one option or the other.
    KristiS11384

    Answer by KristiS11384 at 5:46 PM on Apr. 27, 2010

  • Pro choice is Supporting the right to choose.
    Pro abortion is all for abortion most of them don't have children, like them, or want them. Notice I said most.
    hot-mama86

    Answer by hot-mama86 at 5:52 PM on Apr. 27, 2010

  • Yes, there is a difference.

    Pro-abortion is just that...pro having an abortion.

    Pro-choice is believing everyone has a right to choose for themselves even if that particular individual is not for abortion themselves.
    Amaranth361

    Answer by Amaranth361 at 5:59 PM on Apr. 27, 2010

  • like the PPs said, pro choice is giving women the right to choose what to do with there body.
    i personally am in most situations pro abortion OVER pro adoption. however, im not out there trying to get women to have abortions, i just think that if i a women finds out shes pregnant & she knows shes not going to keep it, she should consider abortion over adoption because i think its a sad thing to be adopted for the child, & i think were already over populated in this world enough. life is hard as it is, then to add being adopted on to that ...
    PURPULbutterfly

    Answer by PURPULbutterfly at 5:59 PM on Apr. 27, 2010

  • Pro life = anti abortion
    Pro abortion = anti full term pregnancy
    Pro choice = the right of the individual to choose from her options for herself.

    That's how I see it.
    jus1jess

    Answer by jus1jess at 6:07 PM on Apr. 27, 2010

  • Prolife is anti abortion. Pro abortion is for abortion. Pro choice is the choice to choose between an abortion or not.
    pnwmom

    Answer by pnwmom at 6:26 PM on Apr. 27, 2010

  • I answered this in the other one already - pro-choice, as it has been defined by civil rights groups, is pro-abortion. Either you agree that abortion is murder or you agree it is not. Choice has nothing to do with it. It's not murder when you do it and a choice when your next door neighbor does it. Either you are ok with your neighbor doing it (pro-abortion) or you're not (anti-abortion). It's the same act both times. The only reason it's framed as a matter of choice is because they know how harsh "pro-abortion" sounds and they wanted a way to counter it. But you cannot be ok with someone else having an abortion if you are not also ok with the abortion happening. If you are truly not ok with the abortion, it's no different that saying you don't care if your neighbor CHOOSES to kill her 5 year old.
    NotPanicking

    Answer by NotPanicking at 6:57 PM on Apr. 27, 2010

  • I suppose technically you can say that you believe in choice but not encouragement of abortion.

    I agree with NotPanicking. There is a "yes" or "no" answer. "Maybe" is just a lazy way of not taking a stand one way or the other.
    Anonymous

    Answer by Anonymous at 7:08 PM on Apr. 27, 2010

  • well since im pro-choice yet anti-abortion i think there is a big difference. since the beginning of life cant be determined in scientific terms its left up to opinion. my opinion is that life begins at implantation, others its conception, and others its birth. since there is no way to know when a life becomes a life and its left up to opinion, im pro-choice. im not going to force my beliefs on a person who believes life begins at birth or 40 weeks or when the life is sustainable on its own or whatever. however, i find abortion to be disgusting and except for serious cases of life or death, to be a very sad part of our society.

    and i find it ironic that the "pro-LIFE" ppl are so usually uninterested in that life once its not aborted.
    okmanders

    Answer by okmanders at 7:13 PM on Apr. 27, 2010

close Join now to connect to
other members!
Connect with Facebook or Sign Up Using Email

Already Joined? LOG IN