Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

What is your opinion?

Since the oil rig explosion Obama has approved 27 offshore drilling projects.
Seems the MSM has been rather quiet about it.
http://environment.about.com/b/2010/05/10/obama-administration-approves-27-offshore-drilling-projects-after-gulf-oil-spill.htm

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2010/mar/31/barack-obama-drilling-offshore-approves

 
Carpy

Asked by Carpy at 7:47 PM on Jun. 4, 2010 in Politics & Current Events

Level 39 (114,053 Credits)
This question is closed.
Answers (19)
  • We need domestic oil. There is no getting around that. It is used in the production of everything. If we didn't do it we wouldn't be able to afford gas, anything made of plastic, building materials like siding and roofing. The economy would really tank. I don't know what kind of new rigs they are planning but I would hope it isn't one of these free floating pieces of crap that caused this problem. If I where Obama I would make sure everyone proceeds with caution.

    BlooBird

    Answer by BlooBird at 7:54 PM on Jun. 4, 2010

  • I think its a bad time to make these decisions.
    MomNbabyGirl009

    Answer by MomNbabyGirl009 at 7:48 PM on Jun. 4, 2010

  • I think it's pretty ridiculous.
    acurran88

    Answer by acurran88 at 7:51 PM on Jun. 4, 2010

  • i'm not surprised. in fact very little does anymore.

    eva123

    Answer by eva123 at 7:52 PM on Jun. 4, 2010

  • "Twenty-six of those projects were approved under the same environmental review exemption that was used to green-light the deadly BP drilling project that led to the current disaster. Essentially, those 26 projects received environmental waivers or exemptions from the Minerals Management Service (MMS), a division of the U.S. Interior Department. Incredibly, two of those approvals were for new BP offshore drilling projects, despite BP's responsibility in the current disaster and the company's poor safety record."


    OMG!  After this disaster, I can't believe he would do this!  I'm definately not voting for him again. 

    Anonymous

    Answer by Anonymous at 7:56 PM on Jun. 4, 2010

  • Wow, I would assume those who support the drill baby drill idea must be very pleased with Obama now?
    Rnurse

    Answer by Rnurse at 7:57 PM on Jun. 4, 2010

  • No, they'll still find a way to hate him. lol.
    acurran88

    Answer by acurran88 at 7:59 PM on Jun. 4, 2010

  • http://www.transworldnews.com/NewsStory.aspx?id=332672&cat=11


    U.S. President Barack Obama has approved a move to ban any new offshore oil drilling until an investigation into what caused the recent oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico that threatens to destroy U.S. coastal areas and wildlife.
    Anonymous

    Answer by Anonymous at 8:04 PM on Jun. 4, 2010

  • Obama to Extend Ban on New Offshore Oil Drilling
    http://www.foxnews.com/politics/2010/05/27/obama-extend-moratorium-oil-drilling/


    May 27, written after your postings.
    Anonymous

    Answer by Anonymous at 8:06 PM on Jun. 4, 2010

  • I knew when he said he was going to approve off-shore drilling that it was a fluke. I bet he's thanking his lucky stars that this BP thing happened so he doesn't have to follow through with his promise to drill off-shore.
    Anonymous

    Answer by Anonymous at 8:15 PM on Jun. 4, 2010

close Join now to connect to
other members!
Connect with Facebook or Sign Up Using Email

Already Joined? LOG IN