Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

How does your local school district devide the grades?

Right now we have elementary schools which house K-5, Middle schools which house 6-8 and the highschool which is 9-12. But they are in the process of changing that... Once all the updates are done and the schools can be switched around we will have Elem. K-4, Jr High 5-7 and High 8-12...

How do your schools do this?

Answer Question

Asked by SabrinaMBowen at 12:55 AM on Jul. 4, 2010 in

Level 40 (122,988 Credits)
Answers (15)
  • Our schools do K-5. Middle school 6-8 (although the middle and high school are connected to each other now) and high school is 9-12

    Answer by Decker at 12:56 AM on Jul. 4, 2010

  • We have Early Years which is K - 5, Middle Years which is 6 - 8, and Senior Years or High School which is 9 - 12. We have some Early Years only schools, but many have Early and Middle Years together.

    Answer by canadianmom1974 at 12:58 AM on Jul. 4, 2010

  • ours is elem. pre-k -5 Middle 6-8 and high 9 - 12

    Answer by lisa101 at 12:58 AM on Jul. 4, 2010

  • Elementary K-5, Middle 6-8, High 9-12.

    Answer by Blueliner at 1:09 AM on Jul. 4, 2010

  • Schools here are elementary k-8, middle 6-8 and high school 9-12

    Answer by outstandingLove at 1:10 AM on Jul. 4, 2010

  • oops, i mean k-5.

    Answer by outstandingLove at 1:11 AM on Jul. 4, 2010

  • Elementary: K - 6; Jr. High: 7 - 8; High School: 9 - 12

    Answer by dustbunny at 1:17 AM on Jul. 4, 2010

  • Elementary- K-5, Middle 6-8, and High school 9-12. A few years ago it use to be Primary- K-2, Elementary- 3-6, Jr. High- 7-8, and High school- 9-12

    Answer by JeremysMom at 1:21 AM on Jul. 4, 2010

  • Usually K-8 for elementary and 9-12 for high school.

    I had never heard of a junior high as a separate school until I was in high school and met kids from the suburbs where they have them (which are 7-8 around here).  We called the floor where the 7th and 8th graders were housed at my school the "junior high" but it wasn't a separate school.  We were still part of the elementary school.

    The school district in the town where my in-laws live has gotten so big (and it's a small town but also the rural school district for all the unincorporated areas) they have a bunch of buildings on one site.  Early Ed (PK-K), Elementary (1-3), Intermediate (4-5), Junior High (6-8) and Sr High (9-12).


    Answer by justanotherjen at 3:27 AM on Jul. 4, 2010

  • Depends on which school district you are asking about. One does K-6 in one school, 7&8 in another and 9-12 in another. One school does K-3 in one school, 4&5 in another, 6-8 in another and 9-12 in another. One school does K-2 in one school, 3&4 in another, 5&6 in another, 7&8 in another and 9-12 in another.

    Answer by purpleducky at 8:44 AM on Jul. 4, 2010

Join CafeMom now to contribute your answer and become part of our community. It's free and takes just a minute.