Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

1 Bump

How do you REALLY cancel a Face Book account?

I tried but couldn't! So I changed my user name. Please help! THANK YOU!

 
plclemo

Asked by plclemo at 4:36 PM on Jul. 4, 2010 in Entertainment

Level 17 (3,823 Credits)
This question is closed.
Answers (6)
  • 2. Delete Your Facebook Account
    a. Make sure you have the email address of all your friends if you want to continue email contact with them. You need to stop using the Facebook messages. Ensure they have your email address too.
    b. Delete ALL sent and received messages.
    c. Remove ALL of your friends from your friends list.
    d. Delete ALL comments/posts on all of your walls (SuperWall, FunWall, The Wall, etc).
    e. Delete ALL Comments and Posts you’ve made on other peoples Walls.
    f. Delete ALL your photos - this includes all profile photos and those in your albums.
    g. Leave ALL your networks and groups.
    h. If you administer any groups, transfer the admin rights to someone else.
    i. Clear every last bit of information from your profile.
    j. Deactivate your account as per the above.
    3. Permanently Delete ALL account information from Facebook Servers
    twinsplus2more

    Answer by twinsplus2more at 4:41 PM on Jul. 4, 2010

  • account settings - all the way at the bottom is a Deactivate Account. or if you REALLY REALLY don't want a facebook account go to http://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=delete_account and send them the delete request

    DarkFaery131

    Answer by DarkFaery131 at 4:39 PM on Jul. 4, 2010

  • it deactivates, but never actually is 'deleted' from the database.
    ObbyDobbie

    Answer by ObbyDobbie at 4:40 PM on Jul. 4, 2010

  • You can request Facebook to have your information completely wiped from their servers.
    They stress that you need to remove all profile content before they can do this. Follow steps a. to i. above but do not deactivate yet. Facebook may come back to you saying there is still content for you to delete. If there is and you have already deactivated, you will need to go through the reactivation process to follow their demands.
    Once you have cleared your account, let them know and they’ll take care of the rest. To let them know follow these steps:
    a. Login to your account, scroll to the very bottom of the page and click on the Help link.
    twinsplus2more

    Answer by twinsplus2more at 4:42 PM on Jul. 4, 2010

  • I'm pretty sure you can only deactivate your accout. GL!
    rockinmomto2

    Answer by rockinmomto2 at 4:47 PM on Jul. 4, 2010

  • Nope, you CAN delete it, but it takes time and effort. You have to follow ALL the steps in the answers I put.
    twinsplus2more

    Answer by twinsplus2more at 4:57 PM on Jul. 4, 2010