Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Did you know Formula increases breastcancer in girls? Does this change your opinion?

Formula feeding increases baby girls' risk of developing breast cancer in later life
Women who were formula-fed as infants have higher rates of breast cancer as adults. For both premenopausal and postmenopausal breast cancer, women who were breastfed as children, even if only for a short time, had a 25% lower risk of developing breast cancer than women who were bottle-fed as infants.

-I just read this at Promom.com, does this change your opinion on formula feeding?

 
MommaTasha1003

Asked by MommaTasha1003 at 11:56 AM on Jul. 7, 2010 in Babies (0-12 months)

Level 24 (20,837 Credits)
This question is closed.
Answers (15)
  • I don't think formula feeders argue that it's better for the baby? lol It just seems like a commonly known fact that breast milkis healthier to me. However in rare cases moms who can't breastfeed for whatever reason probably feel really bad about themselves when they see posts like this. And ones who can but choose not to aren't gonna change their minds anyways so....
    silly2plustwins

    Answer by silly2plustwins at 12:05 PM on Jul. 7, 2010

  • Nope. Show me medical research from CDC, WHO, NEJM..somewhere unbiased and reputable.
    GrnEyedGrandma

    Answer by GrnEyedGrandma at 11:58 AM on Jul. 7, 2010

  • Show me medical research from CDC, WHO, NEJM..somewhere unbiased and reputable.

    Ditto...also, years ago, eggs were suspected for causing cancer...as were other things that are now not on the list.
    Jademom07

    Answer by Jademom07 at 12:01 PM on Jul. 7, 2010

  • the water we drink and the air we breath will kill us all anyhow...or the plastic containers we use, the meat we eat, the chemicals we use...SO MANY things they say cause cancer...and so many more things cause other kinds of death so...no.
    charlotsomtimes

    Answer by charlotsomtimes at 12:01 PM on Jul. 7, 2010

  • I am pro breastfeeding. I failed after 6 weeks of it with my son but with my sex i plan to try again. I feel like everything is causeing cancer nowa days..lol..So i dont think it would budge me much if i had to or wanted to ff my child. Until its well proven :)
    carsonsmommytam

    Answer by carsonsmommytam at 12:03 PM on Jul. 7, 2010

  • Show me hard evidence and not "MAY increase RISK" and I'll think about it more. There is always a study coming out from someone saying something may increase your risk of cancer.
    Kiwismommy19

    Answer by Kiwismommy19 at 12:04 PM on Jul. 7, 2010

  • No. I don't really believe it.
    mompam

    Answer by mompam at 12:04 PM on Jul. 7, 2010

  • No it does not change my opinion about formula feeding because for two pregnancies I was unable to breastfeed. When I have the third kid I think I will try again.
    pinkdragon36

    Answer by pinkdragon36 at 12:05 PM on Jul. 7, 2010

  • No it does not. People will do what they want no matter what type of information you throw at them.
    itsallabtthem84

    Answer by itsallabtthem84 at 11:57 AM on Jul. 7, 2010

  • should put MAY increase breastcancer RISK.
    MommaTasha1003

    Comment by MommaTasha1003 (original poster) at 11:59 AM on Jul. 7, 2010

close Join now to connect to
other members!
Connect with Facebook or Sign Up Using Email

Already Joined? LOG IN