Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

1 Bump

Housing inspection. . .

I had a housing inspection yesterday. (ICS) Thought it went well. All the windows have been painted and there is no cracked paint anywhere on the property. The place is spic and span (more like white glove inspection proof). All the windows go up and down. All the doors open and close. . . We have light bulbs in all the sockets and all the outlets work and test well. All the fire alarms work and we have more than enough for our small apartment (fire safety in general more than passes). We have two bed room both with ample closets (for a 3 person family). Our pets were detained for the inspection and did not growl or even bark. The washer and dryer hook ups are good and all electrical is up to code. The washer drain has been recently upgraded.
What could have possibly failed???? Any ideas? I need help here!!!!!

 
Anonymous

Asked by Anonymous at 2:38 PM on Jul. 21, 2010 in Home & Garden

This question is closed.
Answers (16)
  • Is this like a HUD housing inspection? I don't know where it went wrong by your description but my aunt is a wreck before those things. She will stay up all night for days on end completely cleaning every single item because she says they are looking for anything to fail you on. I always thought she was overreacting because she told me the same thing "white glove" inspection. Apparently you are experiencing the same thing. I would call the office and ask them what you failed on so that you can make sure that it is taken care of. Good luck!
    slw123

    Answer by slw123 at 2:47 PM on Jul. 21, 2010

  • The outlets in the bathroom and kitchen need to be GFCI outlets. Maybe that is it? Do you have a crawl space or basement? Maybe there is something amiss under the house.
    Christina807

    Answer by Christina807 at 4:49 PM on Jul. 21, 2010

  • You can't tell from what you just typed here..
    Cochise

    Answer by Cochise at 2:39 PM on Jul. 21, 2010

  • FROM WHAT I KNOW THEY TELL YOU WHAT YOU FAIL BEFORE THEY LEAVE IF NOT YOU NEED TO GET IN TOUCH WITH THEM
    1LovelyAngel

    Answer by 1LovelyAngel at 2:41 PM on Jul. 21, 2010

  • They should have told you what failed. Is the housing inspector for you or a buyer? There is no such thing as an impartial one. Who is paying them?
    Lifes-A-Dance

    Answer by Lifes-A-Dance at 2:41 PM on Jul. 21, 2010

  • believe your landlord will know so you need to ask him since in all he has to have the problem fixed before the next one
    1LovelyAngel

    Answer by 1LovelyAngel at 3:01 PM on Jul. 21, 2010

  • ok. . .I am out of the anon closet. . . We had to apply for HUDVASH which is a VA assistance for housing. Long story short my DH is disabled and can not work as of yet. My DD is disabled and I home-school her. I do not work due to I have to take care of my DH and DD. We tried the me working thing and there were too many appointments to drive them to and such among other things. . . pretty much working is just not an option as of right now. We were excepted for HUDVASH. YAY! We finally got our inspection and things seemed to go well. However we found out today from our HUDVASH rep. we failed the inspection. We have no idea how or why. Does anyone have any ideas or advice?
    Kirs

    Answer by Kirs at 2:45 PM on Jul. 21, 2010

  • The guy the whole while he was here did not say a word except to say our electrical for such an old house was amazingly great! He made a few other comments but nothing complaining or derogatory. Never said once if we passed or failed. . .
    Kirs

    Answer by Kirs at 2:47 PM on Jul. 21, 2010

  • yes essentially they do a HUD inspection for the HUDVASH. Yes, we stayed up for days cleaning and re-cleaning. . .being former military I keep a clean house anyhow (housing inspections are a b!#*&). . .but this was insane. We already called them and asked and no one will tell us anything but we failed. We were told to wait for the letter. . .
    Our landlord is "paying" for the inspections I believe.
    Kirs

    Answer by Kirs at 2:52 PM on Jul. 21, 2010

  • You might be surprised by what they will fail you on for a HUD loan. When we sold our house, we had to fix three things. One was the way one of our lights was grounded (it was an old house and we had redone the wiring). One was because one of the outlets was reversed negative to positive, or something like that. And one was because we hadn't put test outlets on both sides of our kitchen. It took us about 20 minutes to fix everything for re-inspection.
    JulieJacobKyle

    Answer by JulieJacobKyle at 3:03 PM on Jul. 21, 2010

close Join now to connect to
other members!
Connect with Facebook or Sign Up Using Email

Already Joined? LOG IN