Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

5 Bumps

Daily Question Posted to World of Witches Museum - All opinions welcome!

This is the "Daily Question" posted to the World Of Witches Museum FaceBook page today... I know what MY thoughts are and I'll share them in a bit, but I wanted to see what all of you thought! ALL are welcome! I was a little shocked to see all the different opinions among even the Pagans & Wiccans on their page... I figured here we could get even broader opinions!

What in your mind the difference between a Witch, Pagan, Wiccan, and other types of magickal worker?

Answer Question
 
SabrinaMBowen

Asked by SabrinaMBowen at 11:38 AM on Jul. 23, 2010 in Religion & Beliefs

Level 40 (122,988 Credits)
Answers (14)
  • oh goodness! I am not even sure if I could explain it LOL It's kind of like the "A square is a rectangle but a rectangle isn't always a square" thing.
    shortened basic idea though:
    Pagan - more than 1 god/goddess
    Wiccan - more to do with the earth
    Witch - actually does spell work
    DarkFaery131

    Answer by DarkFaery131 at 11:41 AM on Jul. 23, 2010

  • I don't know much about witches, pagans, and wiccans, but here is what I think it is. I am probably way off so correct me if I am wrong.


    Witch- someone who does spells but don't necessarily believe in a higher power.


    Pagan- Someone who does not believe in a higher power.


    Wiccan- Someone who does spells and believes in a higher power.

    JeremysMom

    Answer by JeremysMom at 11:41 AM on Jul. 23, 2010

  • Lol, okay, I guess I was way off base.
    JeremysMom

    Answer by JeremysMom at 11:42 AM on Jul. 23, 2010

  • witch, someone who believes they can do magical spells
    pagan, tree hugger
    wiccan, tree hugger..practices with what earth gave them...

    i don't know much about any of them...those are just my first thoughts that come to mind.
    shay1130

    Answer by shay1130 at 11:43 AM on Jul. 23, 2010

  • Tree Hugger? LOL!

    Sorry, I found that funny!
    SabrinaMBowen

    Comment by SabrinaMBowen (original poster) at 11:45 AM on Jul. 23, 2010

  • pagan- an umbrella term for anyone who practices a non Abrahamic religion, mostly used for nature/Earth based religions

    Wiccan- A practitioner of an organized nature based religion which may or may not include spellcraft.

    Witch- A practitioner of spellcraft who may or may not belong to a group/organization and may or may not fall under paganism in general.

    But you know what they say! Ask 12 different pagans for a definition and expect at least 13 different answers!
    Xynyth

    Answer by Xynyth at 11:47 AM on Jul. 23, 2010

  • Hmmm... well, I do hug trees but that's because I am a Wood Witch.. just kidding. I think that everyone has their own definition of what each are. We can be a little of each or a part of only a few. We know what we are ~ others outside the realm don't know or completely understand what it is. :)
    WoodWitch

    Answer by WoodWitch at 11:57 AM on Jul. 23, 2010

  • I honestly don't know.

    beeky

    Answer by beeky at 12:00 PM on Jul. 23, 2010

  • Pagan- an umbrella term for anyone who practices a non Abrahamic religion, mostly used for nature/Earth based religions, my be polytheistic
    Wiccan- A practitioner of an organized nature based religion which may or may not include spellcraft, abides by the Wiccan Rede and the rule of threes, Karma etc
    Witch- A practitioner of spellcraft who may or may not belong to a group/organization and may or may not fall under paganism in general.

    Then, as they say... Wiccans are Pagans, but not all Pagans are Wiccan.... not all Witches are Wiccan... etc, etc, etc...

    Morgain

    Answer by Morgain at 12:32 PM on Jul. 23, 2010

  • What in your mind the difference between a Witch--a practitioner of magick. Like being a Nurse or a Musician, something that describes something you DO, not something you believe.


    Pagan/ Wiccan-- Two things that are very much the same. Pagans and wiccans have gods and goddesses, as well as sabbats and rituals. Pagans seldom perform magick. Wiccans are sometimes witchcraft practitioners but not all are.


    And other types of magickal worker? No opinion here. Spells and incantations are the same to practitioners as prayers are to christians. The only thing that changes is whether you use a deity or not and which one you use.

    witchqueen

    Answer by witchqueen at 4:39 PM on Jul. 23, 2010

Join CafeMom now to contribute your answer and become part of our community. It's free and takes just a minute.
close Join now to connect to
other members!
Connect with Facebook or Sign Up Using Email

Already Joined? LOG IN