Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

1 Bump

Do you get opinions/ideas for meals from your kids?

I always ask my son for ideas on things he would like, or meals he would like me to make. Sometimes he gives me a good idea, but sometimes he says he doesn't know but then when I cook dinner, he says "I don't want this!!" I tell him that he needs to start coming up with some ideas then. lol

 
KTMOM

Asked by KTMOM at 5:23 PM on Aug. 5, 2010 in Food & Drink

Level 24 (21,616 Credits)
This question is closed.
Answers (11)
  • I also ask for their opinions/advice on meals often. Beginning this fall they will have to prepare dinner for the family one night every other week. They will rotate weeks. It is time for them to really start learning to cook and what is involved in meal preparation. They are both excited about it and have been looking through cookbooks!
    Marwill

    Answer by Marwill at 12:57 PM on Aug. 6, 2010

  • i pull out the disney cookbook, that way they can help make it. it's made just for kids and their parents for in the kitchen.
    noel1978

    Answer by noel1978 at 5:26 PM on Aug. 5, 2010

  • Yeah...we shop together and prepare the meals together 2...
    mekarevell

    Answer by mekarevell at 12:23 AM on Aug. 6, 2010

  • No, but my daughter usually cooks with me. What we're making usually depends on finances and what's available.
    aliceinalgonac

    Answer by aliceinalgonac at 5:24 PM on Aug. 5, 2010

  • I usually give my kids 2 choices and let them pick one! So far it's worked for us!
    lil_angel00

    Answer by lil_angel00 at 5:26 PM on Aug. 5, 2010

  • yes if I dont have any ideas I let them pick something
    mscamp0235

    Answer by mscamp0235 at 5:28 PM on Aug. 5, 2010

  • More than I want sometimes.My 25 yr old doesn't live at home so when he is in town I let him pick his favorites.My 19 yr old lives at college 9 months of the year so she gets her picks also.Those are great.Now my 12 and 13 year old are very opinionated.When they eat out with us or a friends family or at a friends home they come home with a list of meal ideas.They tell me look it up please.Ha ha they always say please because they know otherwise no chance.

    drfink

    Answer by drfink at 5:36 PM on Aug. 5, 2010

  • I always ask everyone in the family what they want on the menu. The boys are good about giving ideas but my SO and DD are horrible.

    Cindy18

    Answer by Cindy18 at 5:38 PM on Aug. 5, 2010

  • I do - they also like to help me cook sometimes.
    Scuba

    Answer by Scuba at 6:01 PM on Aug. 5, 2010

  • My daughter helps me with out weekly meal plan
    rkoloms

    Answer by rkoloms at 8:42 PM on Aug. 5, 2010

close Join now to connect to
other members!
Connect with Facebook or Sign Up Using Email

Already Joined? LOG IN