Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

1 Bump

Government to require more intensive environmental reviews of new offshore oil wells, who should pay?

This NY Times article talks about how the government is going to require rigorous environmental reviews before it approves any more offshore drilling sites, but who should pay for these reviews- the government or the oil companies?
If the Government pays, that means WE pay. If the companies pay, they might not do a thorough job or exert too much control over the results. What do you think?

 
Cafe Meghan

Asked by Cafe Meghan at 5:38 PM on Aug. 16, 2010 in Politics & Current Events

Level 14 (1,375 Credits)
This question is closed.
Answers (9)
  • I think if the government had been doing its job and doing the minimum inspections that were already required of them we wouldn't have this mess in the first place. The government should be responsible for regulating and enforcing the laws they already have. I also think this is much like gun laws - they don't enforce the ones they already have, so they pass stricter ones and still won't enforce them, but it looks good for November. And 5 or 20 years down the road, when the next oil accident happens, we'll all be talking about who to blame, again, discovering that they weren't enforcing these rules either, and someone will call for even stricter ones, while trying to make someone else pay for it.
    NotPanicking

    Answer by NotPanicking at 5:43 PM on Aug. 16, 2010

  • In any event we will end up paying. Either through taxes or higher prices.
    gdiamante

    Answer by gdiamante at 5:47 PM on Aug. 16, 2010

  • They need to be very careful when writing these types of laws... regulations like these have a dynamic ripple effect. For instance, if the government pays for the testing, they will need to either raise taxes or cut funding from another program. Not a big fan of either of those options, so let's look at plan B.

    Charge the companies, which not only raises the price of fuel, but food and produced goods as well. Suddenly milk at five dollars a gallon making a comeback. HMMM, not a fan of that, either.

    Why not try plan C? The government actually following up on the laws ALREADY on the books... and not skipping out on things like scheduled inspections?
    lovinangels

    Answer by lovinangels at 6:15 PM on Aug. 16, 2010

  • GD is correct. Regulation and oversight takes time (money) and money. It's always about the buck-


    Skirting the rules and making more money is the name of the game until disaster strikes- it's a fine game of Russian Roulette- and it will never go away.

    Sisteract

    Answer by Sisteract at 5:54 PM on Aug. 16, 2010

  • I agree that WE will all be footing the bill either way!
    ToriBabe1221

    Answer by ToriBabe1221 at 6:10 PM on Aug. 16, 2010

  • I agree with MTM.
    itsallabtthem84

    Answer by itsallabtthem84 at 6:14 PM on Aug. 16, 2010

  • Reading the article it sounds like the government is doing the right thing. They want to tighten the regulations and not just hand out permits to oil companies. This needs to be done. They also want to raise the oil companies liabilities. If they didn't do that we pay any way. The environmental experts say it's a step in the right direction. I personally don't care who pays this needs to be done for the sake of the environment. We need to care about the future not the right now.

    mommom2000

    Answer by mommom2000 at 8:45 PM on Aug. 16, 2010

  • I do not care either way as long as it is safe...
    MTM

    Answer by MTM at 6:01 PM on Aug. 16, 2010

  • Hello......... No matter who pays WE pay. Surely you know it's the the customer always picks up the tab.
    itsmesteph11

    Answer by itsmesteph11 at 8:09 PM on Aug. 16, 2010

close Join now to connect to
other members!
Connect with Facebook or Sign Up Using Email

Already Joined? LOG IN