Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Is sugar sifted through animal bones prior to packaging?

I just read this. Have any of you heard this before?

Answer Question
 
lovinangels

Asked by lovinangels at 8:46 PM on Dec. 19, 2010 in Food & Drink

Level 39 (112,638 Credits)
Answers (11)
  • Never heard that..
    MrsLeftlane

    Answer by MrsLeftlane at 8:47 PM on Dec. 19, 2010

  • I have never heard that.
    GrnEyedGrandma

    Answer by GrnEyedGrandma at 8:50 PM on Dec. 19, 2010

  • I haven't heard of that either, but sounds kinda gross, lol.
    LovingSAHMommy

    Answer by LovingSAHMommy at 9:09 PM on Dec. 19, 2010

  • What? That sounds like an urban legend.
    Anonymous

    Answer by Anonymous at 9:09 PM on Dec. 19, 2010

  • "Over half of the cane refineries in the United States use bone char (charcoal made from animal bones) as their activated carbon source. The bone char used in this filtering process is so far removed from its animal source that cane sugar processed in this method is deemed kosher pareve, which, according to Jewish dietary laws, means that it contains no meat or milk in any form as an ingredient." Sorce: http://www.vegsource.com/jo/qa/qasugar.htm


    Hope that helps. I hadn't heard that ... I also missed that episode of Dirty Jobs where he helped make sugar. 


     

    SpiritedWitch

    Answer by SpiritedWitch at 9:45 PM on Dec. 19, 2010

  • never heard of that. creepy.
    sodapple

    Answer by sodapple at 10:27 PM on Dec. 19, 2010

  • iv heard of it before i think they do it because its sifts better then an actual sifter thats made out of metal which sometimes you can taste it in the sugar, bone if cleaned out well has no taste that can rub off
    Lizzypuppylove

    Answer by Lizzypuppylove at 10:37 PM on Dec. 19, 2010

  • If it creeps you out there are stores that sell vegan cane sugar-- no animal products can be used in the processing of products labeled vegan.

    Some wines are filtered through egg whites. That is why vegan wine is labeled that way.
    ecodani

    Answer by ecodani at 11:40 PM on Dec. 19, 2010

  • Kinda makes me want to go on a diet!
    goodwitch399

    Answer by goodwitch399 at 5:15 AM on Dec. 20, 2010

  • Never heard of that ..... ...
    sstepph

    Answer by sstepph at 8:21 AM on Dec. 20, 2010

Join CafeMom now to contribute your answer and become part of our community. It's free and takes just a minute.
close Join now to connect to
other members!
Connect with Facebook or Sign Up Using Email

Already Joined? LOG IN