Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

3 Bumps

Kosher?

Im not Jewish so this is new to me. I always thought that Kosher meant blessed. I googled it and found that it has to do with what animals in the Bible were deamed Kosher. And also the way the animal was slaughtered (being in a humane way). So is it strictly about animals or being blessed? Or is it both? If an animal is Kosher what does that mean? TIA!!

Answer Question
 
Steph319

Asked by Steph319 at 7:27 PM on Feb. 9, 2011 in Religion & Beliefs

Level 21 (11,543 Credits)
Answers (16)
  • it has to do with the animal. a pig is not kosher because they believe it is the lowest form of animal in that it rolls in mud. the animal must be blemish free and be slaughtered in a way that it feels no pain.
    momofone725

    Answer by momofone725 at 7:30 PM on Feb. 9, 2011

  • also i believe that only the front of the animal is the kosher part
    momofone725

    Answer by momofone725 at 7:31 PM on Feb. 9, 2011

  • I am Jewish and it is very confusing. This link might help you: http://www.jewfaq.org/kashrut.htm
    Marwill

    Answer by Marwill at 7:33 PM on Feb. 9, 2011

  • also meat and dairy cannot be eaten together at the same meal or else the meal isn't kosher
    momofone725

    Answer by momofone725 at 7:35 PM on Feb. 9, 2011

  • it has to do with the animal. a pig is not kosher because they believe it is the lowest form of animal in that it rolls in mud. the animal must be blemish free and be slaughtered in a way that it feels no pain.


    My SIL's BF is Seventh Day Adventist. He can not eat pork for the same reason. He can't eat shellfish either b/c they are bottom feeders. Is this the same? Or kind of similar? thanks for your answer!
    Steph319

    Comment by Steph319 (original poster) at 7:37 PM on Feb. 9, 2011

  • So a Jewish person can not have a glass of milk with their steak?
    Steph319

    Comment by Steph319 (original poster) at 7:38 PM on Feb. 9, 2011

  • yes their are other religions besides judaism that keep kosher
    momofone725

    Answer by momofone725 at 7:39 PM on Feb. 9, 2011

  • It isn't just about animals. It is much more involved than that. No, Jews who keep Kosher cannot have milk, sour cream, or any milk product when eating meat. Please read the article. It will clear up many questions.
    Marwill

    Answer by Marwill at 7:40 PM on Feb. 9, 2011

  • Of the "beasts of the earth" (which basically refers to land mammals with the exception of swarming rodents), you may eat any animal that has cloven hooves and chews its cud. Lev. 11:3; Deut. 14:6. Any land mammal that does not have both of these qualities is forbidden. The Torah specifies that the camel, the rock badger, the hare and the pig are not kosher because each lacks one of these two qualifications. Cattle, sheep, goats, deer and bison are kosher.

    There is no mention of these animals being 'unclean.' They are simply forbidden for consumption.
    Marwill

    Answer by Marwill at 7:43 PM on Feb. 9, 2011

  • No cheeseburgers either!
    kathyartist2007

    Answer by kathyartist2007 at 7:55 PM on Feb. 9, 2011

Join CafeMom now to contribute your answer and become part of our community. It's free and takes just a minute.
close Join now to connect to
other members!
Connect with Facebook or Sign Up Using Email

Already Joined? LOG IN