Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

What would you do if you were me? I need an opinion...

So recently I started a new job at a restaurant and its okay so far. I've trained for about 4 days and the manager called me this morning saying "I've talked to all of the other waitresses so far and they don't think you're ready." I feel confident but I admit, I'm still learning so I'm not 100% yet. Rome wasn't built in a day. But the four days I was training, I was being kind of shoved off to the side, having other waitresses saying "I've got it, don't bother." and then they leave me to clean the tables and restock. I keep being called in for more and more training to the point where I'm not spending time with my baby. I have laundry piling up and none of my classes are getting done(my degree is the most important next to my son). What's your opinion? Am I overreacting. Like I said, I love to work but something seems wierd. Its frustrating because when you train, you don't make near as much as you do working.

Answer Question
 
LaurenKaye29

Asked by LaurenKaye29 at 2:13 PM on Nov. 18, 2008 in Money & Work

Level 8 (261 Credits)
Answers (12)
  • At my restaurant you train for at least a week. If you feel they arent treating you right then dont bother to keep going because you will only hate your job in the long run.
    Crystal42683

    Answer by Crystal42683 at 2:16 PM on Nov. 18, 2008

  • i would go somewhere else.
    jbirchard

    Answer by jbirchard at 2:19 PM on Nov. 18, 2008

  • Yeah, like I said, I don't mind training. That's fine but I feel like I'm wasting my time with people who don't want to train.
    LaurenKaye29

    Answer by LaurenKaye29 at 2:20 PM on Nov. 18, 2008

  • Like I said, training isn't the problem but its the fact that I'm wasting my time with someone who doesn't want to train.
    LaurenKaye29

    Answer by LaurenKaye29 at 2:21 PM on Nov. 18, 2008

  • I agree with the above. You may want to ask your boss, In as nice a way as possible, when the training starts. If you get a chance to explain what you mean then maybe it will change and if you don't you should just find something else.
    happy2bme7

    Answer by happy2bme7 at 2:32 PM on Nov. 18, 2008

  • "Its frustrating because when you train, you don't make near as much as you do working."
    I think that is the problem. If you are working while you are training are they paying you less for basically doing the same job? If I managed a restaurant and I could pay someone less for doing the same job by telling them they needed more training - I'd think that was a great deal.
    Works4Mom.com

    Answer by Works4Mom.com at 2:33 PM on Nov. 18, 2008

  • Sounds like they are taking advantage of you and having you work more when they can pay you less. You don't have to be a rocket scientist to be a waitress. If you're willing to do the work and they're holding you back let them know you will have to leave if they don't let you do more. Good luck.
    Anonymous

    Answer by Anonymous at 2:34 PM on Nov. 18, 2008

  • Works4mom.com:

    You hit that right on the nose. My dad said the same exact thing and that pretty much slapped me in the face.
    LaurenKaye29

    Answer by LaurenKaye29 at 2:41 PM on Nov. 18, 2008

  • Well i work from home i cant take the stress plus i dont want to miss time with m husband or kids to bring home money. If you have classes to get done and a lot of housework thats being pushed aside i have something that might help. If you want to know about it send me a message and I will talk to you all about it.
    youngarmywife

    Answer by youngarmywife at 4:40 PM on Nov. 18, 2008

  • Sometimes we have to make sacrifices I have kids meaning more than one I have school and maintain my house and work and cook from scratch and do all the other moms things like running errands schoolwork and work I do .You just have to have a system get up earlier to do the laundry or spend one day doing laundry,errands, phone calls or why don't you try getting a job on campus.Good Luck
    Anonymous

    Answer by Anonymous at 9:27 PM on Nov. 18, 2008

Join CafeMom now to contribute your answer and become part of our community. It's free and takes just a minute.
close Cafemom Join now to connect to other members! Connect with Facebook or Sign Up Using Email

Already Joined? LOG IN