Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Could you go vegan???

vegan- not eating animal or animal products

Answer Question
 
skittles1108

Asked by skittles1108 at 5:35 PM on Apr. 6, 2011 in Food & Drink

Level 26 (26,421 Credits)
Answers (24)
  • sure
    letstalk747

    Answer by letstalk747 at 5:35 PM on Apr. 6, 2011

  • no
    butterflyblue19

    Answer by butterflyblue19 at 5:35 PM on Apr. 6, 2011

  • Never.
    meandrphoto

    Answer by meandrphoto at 5:36 PM on Apr. 6, 2011

  • Never ever.. I would go crazy without a cheeseburger and having to watch someone else eat one!
    zoejains_momma

    Answer by zoejains_momma at 5:38 PM on Apr. 6, 2011

  • Absolutely. I'm already vegetarian again, and I was vegan for a year in high school.
    Mrs.BAT

    Answer by Mrs.BAT at 5:40 PM on Apr. 6, 2011

  • I am a semi-vegetarian (meaning I eat meats only on occasion). Flexitarian/Semi-vegetarian
    You don’t have to be vegetarian to love vegetarian food! “Flexitarian” is a term recently coined to describe those who eat a mostly vegetarian diet, but occasionally eat meat.
    I don't care for meat, so yes--but vegetarian and vegan are not the same. There are different kinds of vegetarians (ones who eat raw, ect.)
    AnasMommy7

    Answer by AnasMommy7 at 5:40 PM on Apr. 6, 2011

  • Pescatarian (also spelled pescetarian)
    The word “pescatarian” is occasionally used to describe those who abstain from eating all meat and animal flesh with the exception of fish. Although the word is not commonly used, more and more people are adopting this kind of diet, usually for health reasons or as a stepping stone to a fully vegetarian diet.
    AnasMommy7

    Answer by AnasMommy7 at 5:40 PM on Apr. 6, 2011

  • Vegetarian (Lacto-ovo- vegetarian)
    When most people think of vegetarians, they think of lacto-ovo-vegetarians. People who do not eat beef, pork, poultry, fish, shellfish or animal flesh of any kind, but do eat eggs and dairy products are lacto-ovo vegetarians (“lacto” comes from the Latin for milk, and “ovo” for egg).
    Lacto-vegetarian is used to describe a vegetarian who does not eat eggs, but does eat dairy products.

    Ovo-vegetarian refers to people who do not eat meat or dairy products but do eat eggs.
    AnasMommy7

    Answer by AnasMommy7 at 5:40 PM on Apr. 6, 2011

  • Vegan
    Vegans do not eat meat of any kind and also do not eat eggs, dairy products, or processed foods containing these or other animal-derived ingredients such as gelatin. Many vegans also refrain from eating foods that are made using animal products that may not contain animal products in the finished process, such as sugar and some wines. There is some debate as to whether certain foods, such as honey, fit into a vegan diet.
    AnasMommy7

    Answer by AnasMommy7 at 5:41 PM on Apr. 6, 2011

  • Raw vegan/Raw food diet
    A raw vegan diet consists of unprocessed vegan foods that have not been heated above 115 degrees Fahrenheit (46 degrees Celsius). “Raw foodists” believe that foods cooked above this temperature have lost a significant amount of their nutritional value and are harmful to the body.
    AnasMommy7

    Answer by AnasMommy7 at 5:41 PM on Apr. 6, 2011

Join CafeMom now to contribute your answer and become part of our community. It's free and takes just a minute.