Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

2 Bumps

Do you know how to respect an opposing opinion?

I see so many answers voted down for no other reason than a difference of opinion. Between prochoice/prolife, republicans/democrats, vaxx/nonvaxx etc etc etc.......
If an answer has been posted thoughtfully and respectfully why the need to vote down? They probably didn't vote you down!
I only vote down when an answer is really needlessly obnoxious, snotty, and unhelpful or just mean spirited.
I have been voted down for snarkiness on a bad day. I get it, and I deserved it lol. But I have also been voted down for giving an honest opinion and I see it happen all the time to everyone else. It just seems so petty to me! It's just as easy to vote up the answers you DO agree with and leave the ones you don't alone.
Am I the only one?

 
Nicoles2LilRams

Asked by Nicoles2LilRams at 10:27 AM on May. 11, 2011 in About CafeMom

Level 21 (10,161 Credits)
This question is closed.
Answers (11)
  • I agree with you!! I don't understand being nasty!! I NEVER bash anyone else's business but several people here have bashed mine. Just because they had a bad experience, does not make us all the same.
    I almost never vote down answers.
    I agree...vote thing could go!!!
    mkdirector2011

    Answer by mkdirector2011 at 10:37 AM on May. 11, 2011

  • I haven't observed this yet, but I'm fairly new, and I don't doubt you any. People are quite petty.
    bishopblack

    Answer by bishopblack at 10:28 AM on May. 11, 2011

  • I can respect a differing opinion. I do respect differing opinions.
    Anonymous

    Answer by Anonymous at 10:31 AM on May. 11, 2011

  • I will never understand running and deleting every response you have put out there that does have a person disagreeing with it.
    Anonymous

    Answer by Anonymous at 10:41 AM on May. 11, 2011

  • i dont vote down or up any ? i just answer the best i can but if some1 votes my answer down or up it doesnt bother me
    Ricanmami1

    Answer by Ricanmami1 at 2:50 PM on May. 11, 2011

  • Why do you assume a vote down = disrespect? People vote down answers they view as spreading misinformation. If they are diametrically opposed to your position on an issue, they will view your answers as misinformation, especially if you don't have a credible, verifiable source to back it up. I will vote down an answer saying it's ok to feed your kids alcohol to get them to sleep just like I would vote down someone saying Keynsian economics is a good idea that will save our economy.
    NotPanicking

    Answer by NotPanicking at 5:39 PM on May. 11, 2011

  • I hope so ~
    tasches

    Answer by tasches at 6:10 PM on May. 11, 2011

  • I tend to vote down when I find an answer blatantly wrong or immoral.
    adnilm

    Answer by adnilm at 11:15 AM on May. 11, 2011

  • I agree with you!! I don't understand being nasty!! I NEVER bash anyone else's business but several people here have bashed mine. Just because they had a bad experience, does not make us all the same.
    Christmaslver68

    Answer by Christmaslver68 at 7:41 AM on May. 12, 2011

  • most people vote up answers when they are in agreement. it only makes sense to vote down if you disagree, right? that being said though i also save my vote-down's for the rude hags.
    tnm786

    Answer by tnm786 at 7:42 AM on May. 12, 2011