Casein is the protein found in milk, so anything made with milk or that contains milk is not casein-free. Your child can have all fresh fruits & veggies, and most meats. Processed meats, like lunchmeat or hotdogs, can contain dairy, so check the ingredients or just avoid those foods for now. Most pre-packaged & processed foods can have some form of dairy in them, so again, check ingredients - you'd seriously be surprised by what you find. For most bread products you should be okay, but some do contain dairy ingredients, so read the ingredients list. ALL processed foods must list common allergens on them, but you may have to hunt for the list, so check the package for dairy/casein listed as a possible allergen in the foods. Good luck!
at 11:05 PM on Dec. 15, 2008