Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I'm having a hard time with my 16 year old

Posted by on May. 24, 2010 at 11:19 PM
  • 7 Replies

My husband got a new job in a bigger City and he and my oldest moved there last month.  My youngest wants to move but more towards the end of the summer. He wants to hang out with his friends.  I work as a police dispatcher and am staying put until October,  that's when my 10 years are up.  My youngest wants to move before school starts but wants to dictate when I take him.  I have vacation time starting tomorrow until June 8th and I need to move him now.  I won't have anymore time off during the summer so if he doesn't go now he won't be able to move until I go in October.  He doesn't want that either because he doesn't want to transfer to a new school in the middle of a semester.  Now the time has come for us to leave tomorrow. I go pickup the u haul trailer at 9am and he's fighting me every step of the way.  He refuses to pack his room, I've been doing it.  Now he's telling me he's not going at all and I don't know what to do...I'm afraid I won't be able to get him in the car tomorrow...HELP!!

Am I being unreasonable by making him move tomorrow???

by on May. 24, 2010 at 11:19 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
Wyndi
by on May. 25, 2010 at 12:07 AM

I can see both sides. You want to do it now so you can get him moved and see your husband and other child. Your son on the other hand wants time with his friends before he moves.  So how about a compromise, (mind you this is just a suggestion) let him have one more week with his friends then you all head up to the new city. Also have him help pack or he will find himself moving with just the stuff on his back and he will have to wait until October for the rest of it.

neng999
by on May. 25, 2010 at 3:51 AM