Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

son told me he smoked pot...

Posted by   + Show Post

I know I should be upset and i'll probably be a little bashed here but... In my mind, and I have had a lot of experience with drugs, addiction, etc. it's not the worst thing he could do. It was at college in his dorm room with his roommate and a few others. We've always been very open about talking about drugs and other stuff because of some family s ituations we've had in the past. So my kids know about all the bad stuff, and the cautions, etc. But for me my son was always quiet in high school, always different, never really did anything to make me distrust him. And the fact that he told me means a lot to me. So we had another discussion about drugs and I hope he'll just be careful and smart. Other than that, I am not sure what to say except that i guess it's part of the college experience. I know it was for me and most people I know. He doesn't have a car, nor do any of his friends at school. So does anyone feel like me that it's kind of a rite of passage???

by on Jan. 5, 2012 at 10:23 PM
Replies (161-167):
btvsfreak
by on Jan. 10, 2012 at 7:37 PM

Honestly, most people in college do it nowadays. It doesn't affect you any different than drinking does. 

However, that being said, if he is caught with it, or around people that are doing it, he CAN be charged as an accessory to a felony and ruin his career, his school life, and his reputation with a future employer. That he needs to be aware of as well. Busted parties happen all the time and he doesn't need to ruin his future career just because he got caught.

GrandmaSinatra
by on Jan. 11, 2012 at 12:41 PM
LOL
atlmom2
by Susie on Jan. 11, 2012 at 1:03 PM

Illegal is illegal no matter what it is. 

ame4c
by on Jan. 11, 2012 at 1:14 PM

Quoting M3Love: