Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Moms with Teens Moms with Teens

Hi everyone.  My name is Trisha.  I am brand new to the group and looking for advice. 

I am a 36 year old single mother of 3.  My oldest son is 16 (will be 17 in June) my daughter is 14, and my youngest son is 10. 

Things haven't been easy for my family.  I've been through two divorces, and here lately it seems like we are constantly moving.  My youngest son has type 1 diabetes, and I am a fulltime student, I also work full time. 

My daughter is having serious problems.  I have tried talking to her, and I have tried getting her counseling.  The psychiatrist I took her to said she is "mildly" depressed, but nothing that should cause concern, but what I see is my daughter taking a razor blade to her arms.  She has recently started cutting.  I don't know why.  When I ask her she says it's because I cause her too much stress, and when I ask her what I can do to cause her less stress she says that I can leave her alone. 

I'm at my wits end...I don't know what to do. 

by on Apr. 28, 2012 at 9:35 PM
Replies (31-33):
saveabrain
by on Apr. 30, 2012 at 9:12 AM
1 mom liked this

Quoting lucky2Beeme:

I would take her to the ER the next time she cuts. They will call in a psych evaluation and get her the help she needs.

Hi Trisha, lucky2Beeme is correct with this.  Cutting is a very serious response to stress along with the way you describe her handling relationships with male strangers.  Also, her demands of buying things for her is a distraction from the stressors that have overwhelmed her system.