Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Moms with Teens Moms with Teens

What's an appropriate graduation or 18 year old gift?

Posted by on Jul. 18, 2012 at 8:35 AM
  • 30 Replies

Another mom asked advice on what to buy her soon to be 18 year old for her birthday.  I'm not wanting to talk about that but it got me to thinking what I got and what would I do for my children.

Did you get anything for turning 18 or graduating high school?

Will you do anything special for your children?

by on Jul. 18, 2012 at 8:35 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
mrjonesii
by on Jul. 18, 2012 at 8:38 AM

I didn't get anything big or special for either.  The night I graduated we went out to dinner.

As for my girls the only thing I plan to do is give them a big party/gathering/picnic celebration of some sort for their graduation.  We may give them some money.  We don't plan to do anything big for their 18th birthday.

luckysevenwow
by Platinum Member on Jul. 18, 2012 at 8:57 AM
No we didn't. Mine don't like bday parties so they get some money and go do what they want to do.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
atlmom2
by Susie on Jul. 18, 2012 at 9:01 AM
At 16 I got my dd's Coach purses. Small ones that were not too expensive. At 18, nothing special. They both got cars when they were around 17 but not new ones and not $20,000. Graduation they got laptops as they had to use family computers before that time.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
meandyou007
by on Jul. 18, 2012 at 9:03 AM

my daughter just graduated and her favorite gift was just money or a gift card.  the best gift cards are the one that can be used anywhere like the visa, american express etc.

savedbygrace316
by on Jul. 18, 2012 at 9:04 AM