Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Moms with Teens Moms with Teens

Dealing with a defiant 16 yr. old boy

Posted by on Jan. 22, 2013 at 6:49 PM
  • 6 Replies

This is my first time to be apart of something like this so be patient with me.  I have a 16 yr. old son who is challenging his father and I as we have never experienced from his older sister or our own lives.  He is defiant at times and not making good decsions all the time.  Grades are not a priority all the time.  Wants his freedom and independence but makes dumb mistakes that can be costly.  Help!

by on Jan. 22, 2013 at 6:49 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-6):
mumsy2three
by Shauna on Jan. 22, 2013 at 7:05 PM

Welcome to the group.

I was very lucky with my teen dd, she was pretty easy through her teens. My sons aren't teens yet but I am hoping they are just as easy. I don't think I'll get that lucky though, lol.

If your son wants his freedom and independence use that as your motivating factor for him. When he does good things~ chores, homework/grades, makes good choices,etc. He gets some freedom and independence to go places and hang out with friends, etc. Set rules and boundaries and be consistent in consequences~ positive and negative.

boys2men2soon
by Kimberly on Jan. 22, 2013 at 7:14 PM

Welcome!    It would help to know what types of things he is doing or challenging you on.       My 19 yr old son was a challenge, too.     

Freedom and Independence are earned.  Bad choices and dumb mistakes are common at 16, that is how we learn.    I like to say:  Those who act like children, are treated as children.     Same goes for responsible adults.

fantasticfour
by Grumpy on Jan. 22, 2013 at 9:06 PM

Welcome to the group. 

Sounds like a typical teenage boy to me and I have yet to figure out what works.

Reina13
by Reina on Jan. 23, 2013 at 11:52 AM
1 mom liked this