Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

How much is prom/ graduation/ senior things where you are or expect them to be?

Posted by on Jan. 25, 2013 at 2:32 PM
  • 10 Replies

We just got DD1s graduation packet in the mail. It includes information for prom, senior activites (both required and not), and graduation itself. I added up just the basic and I'm a little quesy. We live in a basic middle class area and expenses will be at least a grand. That doesn't include prom dress, graduation party. Its $150 for cap/gown, $20 per ticket to graduation, $183 for prom ticket (single, couple is $300), parking at prom is $20 per car/ $30 per van/suv, parking at Graduation will be the same (same place). Plus there is a ton of other stuff. 

I'm just a little taken back, we never had these expenses when I graduated from this high school. We've put money away, planned on this year as expensive but still... $20 to see my child graduate, that should be a right not a payment required thing. I could understand 2 free tickets, payment for others maybe. 

by on Jan. 25, 2013 at 2:32 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
fammatthews4
by Trisha on Jan. 25, 2013 at 2:46 PM

Just out of curiosity where are you?  Those costs are outrageous.  Cap and Gown here was $45 we spent more than that though because we got announcements and some other things when we purchased the cap and gown.  Prom tickets were included in junior year fees which were $30 and that was prom for both junior and senior year.  Senior fees were $40 which included school ID, school T-shirt, Senior T-shirt and all senior week activities.  Every graduating students gets 8 tickets to graduation for no cost and parking doesn't cost either.

Paying$20 to see your child graduate is crazy

bexsmum
by Bronze Member on Jan. 25, 2013 at 2:49 PM