Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Help My Daughter Without Hurting Her Feelings?

Posted by   + Show Post

Hi - I have a 16 year old daughter who is just finishing up her sophomore year. She is very ambitious and talented, and has really found her place in high school. She has joined drama, gotten her lifeguard certification, is an incredible artist and musician (she is self taught on the piano, ukelele, and guitar), she performs in our local coffee shop, writes her own music, and has placed first statewide in her chorus, both individually and with the group. She also started to love school so much she has really thrown herself into studying and has become an A-B student, as opposed to the C-D student she was in middle school. She seems to have really come into her own. Now, she is starting driver's ed and wants to get a job this summer to save for a car. I appluad her ambition greatly and I am very proud of how far she has come. The problem is this: she does not seem to understand how to present herself in a manner that would be conducive to her getting a job. She has never been interested in fashion, she wears ill fitting jeans and plain t-shirts most of the time, and she does not bother with any preparation save for showering. She also has thick, curly hair, and because she does nothing but throw it in a ponytail it frizzes all over the place. Lately she has been very down on herself because she has gotten many interviews but no call backs, and I feel that this may have something to do with the way she is presenting herself. How can I gently nudge her in the direction of paying more attention to her dress, hair, and make-up habits without discouraging her or hurting her feelings? She is so driven and talented, and I would hate to crush her or make her feel as though she isn't good enough, but she needs to understand that presentation counts.

by on Mar. 24, 2013 at 9:35 PM
Replies (21-24):