Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Moms with Teens Moms with Teens

17 year old upset with dad

Posted by on Apr. 29, 2013 at 6:19 PM
  • 9 Replies
Hi ladies. Back after a while .
My DD 17 1/2 just ranted for 45 min about how her father doesn't care about her. Never did. Honestly, they are both similar , but never openly argued. She says that since she was 7 she tried to "talk" to him but never got recognized. My husband is very very quiet and not very demonstrative with affection. He had yelled about silly things. We are married 19 years. I have never yelled at him. She cried when I said we should sit down and talk with him. She said its too late, not worth it and she doesn't want to go thru it. We are planning to drive to college,but she doesn't want him to go. I said that's ok. I did explain to her parenting is hard and dad and I worked as a team so I feel as though I'm to blame partially too. Should I encourage a sit down with three of us or not speak to Steve at all.
:( Not sure what to do. I think confronting will be awful for them both. He loves her totally. Dedicated family man, but loves himself too.
by on Apr. 29, 2013 at 6:19 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
mt0130
by Member on Apr. 29, 2013 at 6:59 PM
2 moms liked this