Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Moms with Teens Moms with Teens

8th Grade Graduation Gift or No Gift?

Posted by   + Show Post

So when i graduated 8th grade we had an actual graduation (cap & gown). My son is graduating at the end of the month and I feel like we should do something for him, special gift... but not sure what. Any ideas? Or is 8th grade no longer a milestone? I don't want to be "those parents" who either do nothing at all or do too much. lol He is my oldest at 14 and this will set the tone for future graduations. What have you gals done? bought?

by on May. 1, 2013 at 7:59 PM
Replies (11-20):
02nana07
by Ida on May. 2, 2013 at 1:20 AM

I didn't do anything

katydon
by Member on May. 2, 2013 at 1:35 AM

Maybe take him out to dinner afterwards. Let him choose his favorite place! 

hollydaze1974
by on May. 2, 2013 at 1:51 AM
We will do a special lunch or dinner, his choice. Probably Japanese Hibachi
As far as a gift.... Maybe a gift card larger than usual, but as an eight grader and in a high achievement class, he's getting to go to D.C.
The cost of the trip plus money for incidentals and souvenirs ..... Pretty much the grad gift as not a penny will be coming from his own pocket. If that sets the bar..., we're in trouble!
hollydaze1974
by on May. 2, 2013 at 2:06 AM
I think assemblies for achievement certificates is appropriate for eight grade, I agree no full fledged graduAtion ceremony... Just another way to make money IMO . BUT, I fully think a dinner, outing, or a commorative type gift is appropriate . After all, they are about to enter the " final stage" of standardized school....

That's a huge and nerve racking deal for them.
My son, for one is nervous and completely terrified, just as he was going from grade school to middle.

Quoting Cindy18: