Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

8th Grade Graduation Gift or No Gift?

Posted by   + Show Post

So when i graduated 8th grade we had an actual graduation (cap & gown). My son is graduating at the end of the month and I feel like we should do something for him, special gift... but not sure what. Any ideas? Or is 8th grade no longer a milestone? I don't want to be "those parents" who either do nothing at all or do too much. lol He is my oldest at 14 and this will set the tone for future graduations. What have you gals done? bought?

by on May. 1, 2013 at 7:59 PM
Replies (21-26):
lilia5
by Lil on May. 3, 2013 at 8:59 AM

We did not get our daughters a gifts when they graduated eighth grade and we will not get gifts for our younger daughters when they graduate eighth grade. The school they attend does not hold a graduation for 8th grade students (or 6th for that matter), but does have 6th and 8th grade promotion ceremonies which are the week after graduation. My children are in a PK-12 school so that might be why it is not such a big deal here.

We go for dinner on the day they get out for summer, it's something we've always done. A small "celebration" I guess.

chattycassie
by Bronze Member on May. 3, 2013 at 9:19 AM

I am on the same page with you here, my oldest daughter is graduating the 8th grade too. They are not doing anything at school. She wanted a party but we cant afford to go that direction so I am going to have a spa day with her and let her go to some other end of year parties,

PurpleHazey
by Angie on May. 3, 2013 at 9:42 AM

I hate to say it but we don't make a big deal out of it here.

PurpleHazey
by Angie on May. 3, 2013 at 9:42 AM

Quoting lilia5: