Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

need ideas on activities to do together with my teens

Posted by   + Show Post

I have 2 teens... a son, 15 years old, and a daughter, 16 years old. 

They both have their friends that they do stuff with, as I have my own friends as well.

However, whenever I suggest things to do with my kids, my son usually will want to do stuff with me, and also with my hubby (their dad)  on weekends (he works fulltime, I am a sub teacher and off for the summer).

My daughter never seems to want to do anything with us...she'd rather text her friends and sit in her room, or go out with her friends.   She usually stays home and likes to veg out, watch tv, text her friends, get on her computer, and basically be in her room.

I miss doing things with my daughter and my son together, the 3 of us, as a group, and with their dad, and me, as a foursome.  How do I find activities to interest my daughter?

I suggest activities, and she says they are boring ideas..if I ask her what she would like to do...she says she doesnt' know.....any ideas, anyone?

by on Jun. 17, 2013 at 2:26 AM
Replies (11-20):
PurpleHazey
by Angie on Jun. 17, 2013 at 9:10 PM

Camping

drfink
by Emily on Jun. 17, 2013 at 10:16 PM
2 moms liked this

Quoting Barabell:

Quoting atlmom2:

That is the norm. I didn't want to either when I was a teen. I say go out to eat. Mine never turned down food, lol.

My son never turns down food either. It can be as simple as going to Starbucks for an hour in the afternoon for a coffee and a treat.

yup my sons and daughter love going out to eat and LOVE Starbucks...never have to ask a second time....lol

drfink
by Emily on Jun. 17, 2013 at 10:21 PM