Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Moms with Teens Moms with Teens

preparing yourself for an empty nest...coping

Posted by on Jul. 4, 2013 at 2:07 AM
  • 16 Replies
1 mom liked this

I have a question for all you ladies out there....what I thought would never enventually happen...has happened..my kids are no longer little and I can actually have a life again!  However, I think that I may have forgotten just how to do that!  Do any of you feel a little lost as to what you will do with yourselves once you have an empty nest?  

I am 52 years old, and my baby will be entering high school this coming August...I have 2 teens, a daughter, 16 years old, and she only has 2 years left of high school before she goes away to college...my son only has 4 years left until he goes to college.  

I used to be an elementary teacher, but I became a stay-at-home mom since my son had learning disabilties and needed to go to counselors, tutors, adhd coaches, neurologists, etc., and my husband also traveled quite a bit for his work, so we felt that our family needed one parent at home.

It seemed like a good thing at the time, although I missed teaching terribly, as my son really needed me physically at home to focus on him getting his homework done, driving him to his many appointments (which were oftentimes directly afterschool) which made even substitute teaching nearly impossible.

However, now, I find that  the teaching market here (Ohio) is terrible, and very few jobs fulltime here.

I have managed to return to substitute teaching, and I love it, and there seems to be a need for subs as well.

The pay isn't anywhere as good as a fulltime teaching job would be, and my husband has mentioned to me about returning to teaching fulltime, as though I can just easily jump back in, and secure a teaching contract, just like that!  I have no idea what else I would ever want to do other than work with kids....I love it.