Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Moms with Teens Moms with Teens

Need other opinions - English class related.

Posted by on Oct. 12, 2013 at 7:46 PM
  • 25 Replies

My SD is in 8th grade but taking an English 1 honors class. She is not a very good writer but I am concerned and am considering asking for a conference with her English teacher. I will also add that I am a teacher. I have a master's degree in education but I teach elementary so high school English classes are a little out of my experience level.

I have already emailed this teacher previously because my SD's average in English was not where we expect it and I was asking for her to assist her because it was clear that SD didn't know how to write a high school level paper. She just has never been taught how to do a formal argumentative essay. The teacher informs me that she was just using it to help her figure out what she needed to teach. This seemed strange to me as that kind of an assessment shouldn't have been graded if she hadn't done any instruction yet. When I asked her about it she confirmed my concern but gave an excuse as to why she chose to put it in the grade book anyway. She then asked my SD if I was a teacher the next day.