Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Moms with Teens Moms with Teens

I just want to scream and cry!

Posted by on Nov. 22, 2013 at 12:38 AM
  • 10 Replies

I am new to this parenting teens thing. My step son has been with us less than a month and the honeymoon is off. I have asked him 4x to get his planner signed off by his teachers, and he says "yeah" but doesn't. He does martial arts, nd I told him he couldn't train because he failed to do as he was told. I feel like that is a fair consequence. There is another issue we are dealing with. We live in alaska and currently it is -30 below. He has been leaving his window open. Last night my husband told him to shut his window and not to open it. He shut it, but today he had it open again. My thought is the next time he leaves the window open we take his door off so we can monitor it better. Is this too harsh? Any suggestions?

by on Nov. 22, 2013 at 12:38 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
GleekingOut
by Silver Member on Nov. 22, 2013 at 2:26 AM

Some of these moms consider my methods/ways harsh and controlling - but I would NEVER control whether a child shut his or her window - he's obviously feeling hot if he's got the window open - I would however sneak in in the middle of the night to check that he's actually IN his room. Have you talked to his martial arts trainer about his grades? When my eldest was in martial arts they were really good about school grades and if you didn't behave/get good grades you weren't allowed to go for your next belt or special activities until you got your act together. The last thing is - tell him that if he doesn't get his  planner signed YOU will come into the school to get his planner signed, that should get him into gear - if not - follow through. Where's the bio mom in all this? Is he in counselling at all?

Starrnak
by New Member on Nov. 22, 2013 at 4:50 AM