Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Moms with Teens Moms with Teens

Anyone become close with kid's bf's or gf's family?

Posted by on May. 14, 2014 at 11:59 AM
  • 9 Replies

My daughter has a boyfriend that we have actually become close with his family... VERY close in fact.  His mom even calls me "bestie" and we get together a lot - I even babysit her daughter, go to his baseball games together, and we have cook-outs and stuff.  It's only been a couple months, but our teen kids seem serious for their young age and even plan on someday getting married.  They are only freshmen in HS but I do believe this can happen because I met my husband when I was a freshman.  Anyway, what I am worried about is what if they DO break up - will it be incredibly awkward with his family/our family and will me and his mom even be able to be friends? Should I worry about this?

by on May. 14, 2014 at 11:59 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
atlmom2
by Susie on May. 14, 2014 at 12:04 PM

Not really.  We have never met any of our girls boyfriends family.  SO, let me back up since that seems strange.  DD 20 has been dating her boyfriend for 3 years.  His Mom and sisters were living out of state and the Dad was just living here till her boyfriend graduated.  SO, that is why we have never met.  DD 23 has been dating a guy since December and he and his parents live 1 hour and 30 minutes away

It is very slim that they will get married starting to date freshman year.  I guess I wouldn't want to be good friends because it will be awkward when they do break up.  I would never have wanted my girls to have a boyfriend that young and to be so serious. 

fairybaby55
by Member on May. 14, 2014 at 12:13 PM

Quoting atlmom2: