Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Moms with Teens Moms with Teens

Teenage Twin Trouble

Posted by on Jul. 24, 2014 at 8:44 PM
  • 25 Replies

Firstly, this is my first time posting here so small bit of background. I have identical twins, Alexandra and Andrea, more commonly know as Alex and Andi. From birth they have been inseparable and my husband Dave and I always thought that they would outgrow. However, they haven't. At sixteen, going on seventeen, they still dress the same, share a room (we tried to give them seperate rooms when they were younger and they always ended up in the same bed), even share friends and I'm worried that it may be unhealthy for them. By no means do I want to forcibly split my children up but I worry about their dependence on one another. They have the same class schedules and my husband and I when they started high school tried to get them to not share every class. They just about had a fit and went and changed their schedules so they would be with one another again. They finish each other's sentence, talk in sync sometimes. They make zero effort to differentiate themselves. They let everybody run around making guesses as to which one is which and we have gotten calls from teachers about Alex responding Andi's name and Andi responding to Alex's name! My main concern is that they'll be seniors this year and that means college is coming up. I'm worried that their dependence on one another will adversely affect them. By the way, don't call me a bad parent but even I can't tell them apart. I've also included a link to imgur that has a few photos from our Christmas cards so you could see our predicament. 
P.S, I'm not saying that their attachment is wrong, I'm simply worried they may be too close.
imgur.com/a/dopoQ

by on Jul. 24, 2014 at 8:44 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
KeepOnTryin