Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Where is the line between . . .

Posted by on Dec. 2, 2017 at 4:31 PM
  • 10 Replies

. . . typical teen stuff and sexual harassment, in your opinion?

Obviously stalking, intentional and non-consensual touching of any type is beyond the line, as is sexual banter or innuendos of any type. And continuous badgering for a date crosses the line at some point. However, as with Atlmom2's daughter and SIL that line is not crossed when the boy does it respectfully.

As a whole other discussion, I don't understand how teens think that treating some body like crap will get them anywhere with that person, romantically or other wise.

I have ZERO experience as a parent as our daughters and SILs are married to their junior high sweethearts and the teen granddaughters aren't boy crazy yet (and hopefully will not be for quite a while longer). They did each have a boy ask them to the Homecoming dance last month, but those are just friendships in the band.  And they, like our daughters run with a herd of other teens at Six Flags, movies, mall, etcetera.

by on Dec. 2, 2017 at 4:31 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
heybooboo
by Bronze Member on Dec. 2, 2017 at 7:34 PM

I think it varies for each individual, and I think the biggest factor is "when does it become uncomfortable?".

I am a big boundary enforcer if someone says "no', you respect it and move on.  That applies for every situation.  And that is what we have taught our kids.  If you can say no and still comfortably interact with that person, then it's a safe situation.  It's when you say "no" and conflict arises that red flags start to pop out of thin air.

Ziva65
by Silver Member on Dec. 2, 2017 at 10:57 PM
I see it as respect.

Honestly, “typical teen stuff” I don’t buy. If they’re flirting, dating, it can still be respectful and appropriate.
cybcm