Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I'm new to group just wanted to post this.

Posted by   + Show Post
Moms of girls, have you read the book " Girls and sex " or heard about it? I highly recommend it to anyone with teenage girls before they start dating. It is a shocking read, but it really tells it like it is in today's rape culture in schools and colleges. Also, moms of boys, it is an eye opener as to how young males who are seen as good kids are often someone entirely different on social media and when drinking. Thanks.
by on Dec. 14, 2017 at 8:11 AM
Replies (11-12):
jewjewbee
by Member on Jan. 2, 2018 at 5:44 PM
Quoting Kimmybabe:

Well, it is bad.

In the case of our daughters, I think it was a joint decision with their guy, or maybe the possibility that the daughters were the instigators of it happening when it did.  

Years ago a mother, who managed an elder care home, made the observation that most of the older ladies living there were sexually active as teens, albeit with husbands.

Thinking about it, I think she is probably correct as First Ladies Mamie Eisenhower, Rosalyn Carter, and Barbara Bush were all old maids of nineteen on their wedding day, so they probably were sexually active teens soon after their wedding. Mamie Eisenhower was born when her mother was 18 and Mamie was the second child of her mother and father.

Prior to WWII, teen brides were more the norm than the exception. If you go back to 1900 the average length of life was like 47 vs 76 in 2000, so couples married as teens, had families, and hoped the kids were teens before one or both of them were gone. I have a great great something grandmother who was fourteen on her wedding day to a seventeen year old groom.