Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Learning to drive

Posted by on Feb. 1, 2018 at 11:51 AM
  • 27 Replies

How did you moms handle your "babies" learning to drive?  I'll be honest, I've been so nervous that I hardly ever let my daughter drive until recently even though she's had her learner's permit fro quite sometime. It's just so weird and nerve wracking having her driving. (even though she does great!) I just recently started letting her drive mom and venture on the highways. 

by on Feb. 1, 2018 at 11:51 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
mjande4
by Bronze Member on Feb. 1, 2018 at 11:55 AM

That is/was my husband's wheelhouse. He started taking the kids to an empty parking lot around age 14.  I would take them to get their permits and licenses though, but the actual teaching I'm not good with.

M4LG5
by Bronze Member on Feb. 1, 2018 at 11:57 AM
1 mom liked this

I'm not quite there.....almost.  To be honest, I miss the times that they are young but I get more excited about the stages of where they are and where they are going so I don't ever refer to my kids as my "babies".  No offense to anyone that does.....it just doesn't reflect how I see them.

My oldest is 14.5 years old. I have allowed her to drive the car from the garage to another spot.  I need to do it more.  I actually CAN NOT wait until she starts driving.  This means that I don't have to take her to all of her soccer and softball practices or be there an hour early at her games just to watch her warm up.  I can just show up at game time.  hahaha. 

AnnieGoolaheey
by Member on Feb. 1, 2018 at 11:57 AM

My husband has done most of the teaching but I figured since I drive her to school everyday that I could let her start driving to school so she could get practice.  It causes me great anxiety though.

Quoting mjande4: