Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Help with Daughter's First Period

Posted by on Apr. 17, 2009 at 9:24 PM
  • 18 Replies

I am new to Cafemom and have been searching the site in hopes of some wisdom.  The key word search led me here and I know as Moms of teenagers you all have been down this road. I am hopeful someone can offer me some insight.

Samantha has had some spotting a few times but it was always gone before I knew it had happened.  Today when she came home after school and was changing out of her uniform she screamed like she saw a ghost.  I ran in to find her finding out she has started her period.  I got her calmed down and she is now watching tv and wearing her first pad.  I knew this was coming but I am absolutely not ready for it and neither is she. She is only 9 and I didn't start until I was almost 12.

Help!

by on Apr. 17, 2009 at 9:24 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
momcat437
by on Apr. 17, 2009 at 9:26 PM

Wow, that's young!  But it's up to you to let her know that this is a totally natural thing, and it's nothing to be afraid of.  Be calm, and be reassuring!  You've done this for years yourself--you know what to expect, and you need to let her know, but as calmly and easily as you can...God bless! 

Dreaming of that Paradise Earth...

MamaDiane
by on Apr. 17, 2009 at 10:21 PM

Holy Cow! Now, I better have a talk with my daughter.  I know ladies who have started around 9 yrs old.  I was 13 when I started - but I have nieces who were closer to 10 yrs old.  She will be fine, and so will you Mama.  It is tough to see our children coming into the first signs of adulthood.

3boyz1princess
by on Apr. 17, 2009 at 10:34 PM