Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Shell Diapers!?!

Posted by on Jan. 15, 2013 at 1:44 PM
  • 10 Replies
  • 218 Total Views

Was curious if anyone uses these types of diapers?  I have the babyville boutique pattern book and my mother and i have made a few of these.  As I am making more Im wondering if that is too much bulk inside the diaper!?!  I know all  diapers are a little bulky but just trying to think ahead before I make too many.  The reason I chose these diapers is because I figure with the prefolded that I wouldnt have to have a whole new diaper each time, just a shell maybe..or am I thinking about this all wrong...  Thanks..I am new to all this!!!

by on Jan. 15, 2013 at 1:44 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
perfect01
by on Jan. 15, 2013 at 4:03 PM

Basically, it sounds like you are talking about a cover.  A lot of moms love using covers and prefolds, especially with the newborns.  I take it a step further and make AI2's with the wipe out interior and snap in inserts so they stay very trim.  Sounds like you and your mom will be having fun making more diapers.

Sarita33
by Group Owner on Jan. 15, 2013 at 4:11 PM
Those are similiar to commercial flips. So basically a cover and you change the insert. So you can reuse the cover a few changes just wiping it out for pee. If poop gets on it I use a new one. You will always use a new prefold or insert. Have fun sewing and any questions, ask away!
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
kansasrtamy
by on Jan. 15, 2013 at 8:44 PM

*Its not the best picture but we are out of state so I dont have any with me.