Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I made my first ever diaper!

Posted by on Feb. 15, 2013 at 1:39 PM
  • 9 Replies
  • 190 Total Views

I dont actually know how to sew but I have a sewing machine lol and I use it sometimes. But I really wanted to try making diapers so this is my first try! I used some cheap cotton for the outter and some pul for the innerfor an AI2.I had some issues with the pull and the feeding teeth because I need to get the kind that dont snag so the top stiching is kind of ugly lol. I also feel like the elastic looks sad :( I modified a large pattern to make a O/S and I used a medium/small length of elastic and it just doent really look like theres anything going on there. So I think that Im going to use a wider elastic or something next time.

But it was fun and Im excited to try it out on my son once he needs a change and Im excited to learn and do better next time :D

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie First Birthday tickers
baby wearing, cloth diapering, attachment parenting, breastfeeding first time mamma
by on Feb. 15, 2013 at 1:39 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
.Angelica.
by on Feb. 15, 2013 at 3:24 PM

Cute. the elastic looks fine. I use 1/4" I think if you want the ruffled look, you might have to stitch on both sides of the elastic when encasing it. At least, I've noticed that the diapers I have that look like that, that is how it's done. And I don't ever measure my elastic. I always mark where it's supposed to go and hold the elastic at one point, stretch it to the other and cut there, then cut it in half for the legs. and the back I do the same but only cut one half.

Ma2Liam
by Diva In Training on Feb. 15, 2013 at 3:25 PM
Looks pretty good for the first time. A walking foot helps with feeding the pul through.