Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

upcycling?

Posted by on May. 12, 2013 at 3:54 PM
  • 6 Replies
  • 197 Total Views
So I want to make a few fitted diapers. I have tons of old towels (bath towels)... I wondered... Does anyone know if I could upcycle those for the inside of the diaper or soaker and put flannel or microfleece on the outside?

What else can you upcycle for diapers? :)

Btw, I'm new here... So... Hi! I'm a 25 year old mama of one, soon to be two (due in August), who will be 24 months apart. I have been cloth diapering my son since he was 10 lbs and fit one-size pockets, but am new to sewing diapers... I have lots of experience with sewing, but have mostly made wetbags for myself etc plus have gotten a little bit into the wahm cottage industry with things like tutus, ties for little boys etc :)
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on May. 12, 2013 at 3:54 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-6):
Sarita33
by Group Owner on May. 12, 2013 at 4:07 PM
2 moms liked this
I have made fitteds with old towels. I put flannel on the outside, towel in the middle, and microfleece on the inside.

Then I uses an insert for added absorbancy.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
FoxTales
by on May. 12, 2013 at 4:35 PM
Oh cool!! That is precisely what I was thinking, because I have microfleece on the way.

Quoting Sarita33:

I have made fitteds with old towels. I put flannel on the outside, towel in the middle, and microfleece on the inside.

Then I uses an insert for added absorbancy.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
perfect01
by on May. 13, 2013 at 5:15 PM
I have also used old heavy men's t- shirts for absorbency - cheap & easy to get at the thrift stores.
pinkiebabii
by on May. 14, 2013 at 8:51 AM
2 moms liked this

I used a sock for the outside of this diaper lol.
You know the ones they sell for like a dollar during winter and they are fluffy well this is one of those.