Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

A Question for WAHMS who sell online

Posted by on Jan. 21, 2009 at 5:05 PM
  • 6 Replies
  • 279 Total Views

This may not be the right place for this--but I think there are a couple of WAHMS with cloth diaper shops out there! :)

So I am relatively new at this and have started getting requests from some reputable online diaper stores who are interested in buying my diapers wholesale.

My first question was whether I could make money selling at a discount rate. I can--I just don't know how to begin setting this up or how.

Anybody have any experience with this?

Crazy Cding, Babywearing, Breastfeeding--16 months and counting, pregnant--Due in September, Owner of Cheeky Diapers--Momma to Ethan and Wife to Rob.

by on Jan. 21, 2009 at 5:05 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-6):
mariannainidaho
by on Jan. 21, 2009 at 9:56 PM

I don't sell my diapers but I used to work for a wholesale company so I can say retail is usually at least twice the wholesale price.  The wholesale price is usually at least twice the actual cost of materials.  So if your materials cost $5 you would sell something wholesale for $10-12 and they would sell it for $20-$24.  Under that scenario though they make more money off your product than you do!

please consider donating to Miracle Diapers

supercrafty
by on Jan. 22, 2009 at 7:33 AM

I haven't sold wholesale for this very reason.  I think it comes down to time.  If you have enough time to make lots more diapers than you can sell retail, it makes sense to sell wholesale.  I struggle to keep up with retail orders and don't have the time to make dozens of diapers for $4 or $5 each. 

Also, if you are selling your diapers you are familiar with the new cpsia legislation regarding lead testing for kids products, right?  It's making selling kids stuff far more difficult.